Comedian Michael Colyar Talks Motivation, New Tour & Overcoming Addiction

in #motivation4 years ago

Michael Colyar is bringing motivation to the masses.

“That’s all I want to do. I want to be an artist that heals people,” he said to the Los Angeles Sentinel Newspaper in a sit down interview in Canago Park.

Colyar was just leaving his radio show with fellow comedian Earthquake wearing a gold suit that highlighted his energy. Just like gold, he was shining with positivity. Despite those positive vibes, the comedian addressed the recent death of Kobe Bryant.

“I was leaving church when I heard the news about Kobe,” said Colyar speaking in a low tone.

Bryant, including his daughter Gigi and seven other passengers, lost their lives in a helicopter crash just miles from the interview’s location.

“This young man had everything,” said Colyar as he looked down at the floor.

And now he is gone. So many people wake up today and have plans. Things like that make me remember that we have to live with an attitude of gratitude each day.”

Colyar has been living in gratitude since his sobriety from crack nine years ago. He attends AAA meetings that help him focus on his career. The comedian’s career includes starring roles on “Martin” to most recently appearing in ABC’s comedy “black-ish.”

“I’m so grateful for life. I love waking up and turning to my beautiful queen in bed. Here I am right in the middle of my dreams. I’m doing plays, comedy shows but it’s the little things that matter to me,” said Colyar.

His dreams continue to come true with his play Michael Colyar’s Momma that chronicles his story from drug addiction to sobriety. The comedian credits his achievements to his mother who was a beacon of light during his darkest times. The two-hour play walks audiences through Colyar’s tumultuous life of rags to riches.

“I play 17 characters,” Colyar said before letting out a huge laugh.

Michael Colyar wants to inspire people in his play Michael Coylar Momma (Courtesy Photo)

“I play different ages, my dad, my mom, the crack heads in the community. It’s a dramatic comedic piece dedicated to my mother and how she impacted my life.”

The comedian performed one-hour shows from 1986 to 1995 every weekend on Venice Beach. Money started flowing in his bank account as his audience grew. The new wealth became more than checks and bills. It started a drug addiction that almost wiped out his career.

“I was getting high and wilding out. You smoke crack for a while and crack smokes you. “

The comedian found himself in dirty motels doing drugs with unknown people. It was his mother that made him reconsider his habit.

“We never talked about the addiction but your momma knows. She understood and loved me anyways. When people can understand you and love you anyways, that’s what heals people,” said Colyar as he held up his motivational book titled ‘Michael Goes Motivational.’

Colyar is now bringing his plays and book to a national audience. The comedian has embarked on a 100-city tour. Audiences can find more information about his tour and book on his website at realmichaelcolyar.com. Colyar is hoping his career brings joy to everyone.

“I’m happy God has given us another opportunity to live with joy. Anytime joy appears, that is God.”

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87