Everyone has Inherent Value!

in #motivation8 years ago (edited)

We're all Potential Teachers


Many people know there are things they want to learn (i.e. student) and seek out somewhere they can get the information whether it be from another person, online or somewhere else. Usually it's easy to tell if the resource being used is what they were looking for and if not, they can move on and try the next one. Any student has to have the drive to actively seek out what they're wanting to know...it's rare to have the perfect resource fall in your lap.

After a while students become comfortable in the areas they've been studying up on and then move to learning on the next step or topic. What I'd like to point out is that those seen as teachers by those they have been helping, are indeed students themselves! Any teacher or mentor is in a constant ebb and flow of presenting what they know to interested students but ALSO learning new things too. We all have our specialized areas of expertise that most students see, but when not 'in front of a class' are ramping up on some new set of skills or concepts.


My point out of all of this is that it's sometimes easy for teachers to forget they're also students as well as students not realizing they can also be teachers. I've found consistently over the years that it is one challenge to learn a concept/topic/etc so that I can run it through my head and generate some sort of answer/idea, hopefully the 'right' one. But when I then have to teach it to somebody else, it requires a whole new level of breaking it down into understandable chunks AND have the ability to communicate this clearly.

Teaching ANYTHING for the First Time Takes Understanding to a Whole New Level!


Do you remember that activity in elementary school where they tell you to "Write a How-to" on something like making a peanut butter and jelly sandwich? At first glace it's as easy as put peanut butter on one piece of bread, jelly on the other, and then put them together. Voila! I have my sandwich. Then the teacher critiques the how-to with questions like;

  • Where did you get the bread, peanut butter, and/or jelly from?
  • How did you get these things out from closed containers?
  • Was anything used to 'spread' the peanut butter on the bread? or do I use my fingers?
  • and the list goes on.

I'm sure you get my point here. There are frequently steps that we take for granted because we expect others to 'know what we know.' This right here is the difference when teaching a concept to somebody else..every step needs to be explicitly stated at the beginning. Moving from understanding something yourself, in your head, and being able to clearly break the process down in full AND communicate to someone else forces you to either have a better grasp on the topic or at least show you where things are lacking.


To those of you that see themselves only as a student, I want you to dig deep and find something that either you are able to teach to somebody else or at least a benefit you can provide to others. This can be anything from 'How to draw such and such,' parenting tips, or help a non-native English speaker with rewording their writing.

Everyone has SOME value they bring to the table! All to often I've heard the statement of "I'd love to write, but I have nothing to contribute" or something akin to that. In my opinion it just means their either not looking hard enough or under-valuing what they do. Often we trivialize what we do and what we've learned in our lives.


Are you a parent? How have you approached or dealt with such and such?

Are you the "listener" or "shoulder to cry on" in your friend group? Why do people find it easy to talk or confide in you? How do you convey empathy without judgement?

Again the list goes on. We all have our personality types and natural strengths which we tend to chalk up to always being there and don't think anything of it. But you should! Every single person has something they do or can contribute. I challenge you to find this value in yourself, because I guaranty you it's there!


Often holding somebody in high regard, as an expert or icon blinds a student from seeing the imperfections or lack of knowledge in some areas their teacher has. When was the last time you pictured your favorite high school teacher sitting in a students desk while going for their masters degree? Probably never, we typically view our teachers as teachers.

My overall point here is that those who are teachers are also perpetual students. Those who are students are potential teachers. Don't let these labels get in your way! Everybody has inherent value and has something they can convey to others.

Remember! It's not about being RIGHT, it's about getting BETTER!




I'm Not Totally Useless
Teachers are Learners too
PB and J Sandwich
Everyone you Meet Quote
Self Worth Quote
Education isn't Something you Finish

Sort:  

@sykochica, I have an evening part time job where I interact with a lot of customers. In recent years I've witnessed an absolute disregard of surroundings and the importance of fellow humans. One person in particular, is an absolute drain on the surrounding atmosphere, but I appreciate him. I know his disease now, and I've learned so much from him.

He has to be one of the loneliest and unhappy individuals I've ever come across. My desire daily is to treat him with as much kindness as possible. Thank you for the post.

I can completely understand! I spent quite a bit of time in customer service jobs! One thing I noticed over the years was that for the most part feelings of anger/frustration generally turned into pity for people like that. I couldn't imagine waking up everyday and just view everything as being negative, out to get them, etc and having any sense of what I consider 'a life.'

Honestly, I commend you for still putting out positivity and niceness towards him! It's not always an easy thing to do, and many people never even think to try.

Since value is subjective I would argue that nobody/nothing has inherent value. ;)

But I agree with the spirit of what you're saying. Good post!

I get what you're saying, but the same counter argument could be made that because value is subjective, inherent value exists, it's just a matter transmitting to those who agree it's valuable. A joke doesn't make everybody laugh, but those who do, it's still benefit. Value doesn't have to impact the whole world, to each individual effected is can make a difference.

But I'll openly admit that in posts like this, I'm way more focused on getting the sentiment across than anything else. :)

Thank you!

because value is subjective, inherent value exists, it's just a matter transmitting to those who agree it's valuable.

I like that. It's a much more positive spin on the point I was making.

I'm a steadfast optimist, both a blessing and curse! :P

I am a good listener and am ready to learn at all times. There is no age limit to learn from or get knowledge from.

Agreed - in the end someone always has something valuable to add because we are all creatures of different and unique experiences, thus giving a different perspective or insight on varying topics.

Exactly!
I've had a fun saying for a while of "It's not who you know or what you know. It's knowing who knows what."
It's not totally the same, but I enjoy the similarities to this. :)

I remember doing a similar exercise to peanut butter and jelly sandwich and I quite failed. Since then like you said I always remember that maybe people don't know what I know whenever I try to explain something. We are learning new things every day, and I quite enjoy it! Great post!

I'm amazed that I'm yet to find someone who hasn't done that exercise before, but I'm sure I will. Lol. That pic was just too perfect to not include! :P

Thank you!! :D

Good food for thought. I've been pondering the best way I can contribute to Steemit and how we can help each other. I'm just learning coding and I suck at promotion, but I have an excellent foundation in English grammar and sentence structure.

I don't remember the PB &J exercise. It is probably younger than I am!

I can clearly remember being frustrated with people showing me computer tasks because they would go too fast. Now, my husband gets frustrated with me for the same reason.

I understand just how much I'm still a student of Steemit when I try to answer my husband's questions about it. If someone can explain the money aspect to him, I would be SO grateful.

When I taught in a business college, I told my students I wanted to be a lifelong learner, but I'm a bit amazed at the things I'm learning now.

You're a Steem goddess. :)

Love the work and articles you're producing lately. Very inspirational.

Ty @klye! :D Steem Goddess, I may have to see if they can add that to my steem verify badge! Rofl

Seriously though, I do appreciate that! Knowing it's helpful to others really makes it worth it for me! :D

"To this ONE it makes a difference. And to THIS one it makes a difference."
That starfish story is pretty ingrained :P

nothing like a motivational speech to greet and read in the morning to make an awesome day :) p.s the minions got my attention.

Thank you! I'm a huge fan of generating 'good vibes' in any way possible. :D

Hehe, yea. The minion was just too perfect to not use there. I have to smile whenever I see one of those little guys!

Such a great post @sykochica! I have made it my goal to always learn one new thing per day and I always end up learning a bunch more than that! :D

Thank you! And I love that goal!
The ironic cosmic joke that's embedded in that is "Finding an answer leads to 3 new questions," hence the more we know the less we know we know. Rofl!

It's an never-ending cycle of learning and teaching.
I used to ask my kids, do you know the difference between stupid people and smart people? answer: stupid people THINK they know all the answers. Smart people never stop asking questions.
And once you have a good foundation on some knowledge, it's kind of selfish to keep it to one's self!

That's beautifully said @mere99! and what a great way to present it to kids too!

I really feel we're 'socially taught' not to give things for free...imo those things we do for free are usually the most important! :D

I couldn't agree more <3

Love this! I know that when I teach or tutor someone, especially if it is something I've never taught before, that very act helps crystalize the subject in my head. There's something powerful about putting thoughts into words. It's like doing so helps cement the realness of the thought. I love the word realize. At first glance it means "to understand." But on further observation, it can also mean, "to make real."

“Everyone you will ever meet knows something you don't.”
― Bill Nye

In regards to focusing on your strengths, for me personally, learning my Myers-Brigg personality typology really helped me to understand what I can best contribute, but also negative tendencies I can curb if I observe myself vigilantly.

"A teacher … is anyone who chooses to be one. His qualifications consist solely in this; somehow, somewhere he has made a deliberate choice in which he did not see his interests as apart from someone else's"
― ACIM (M-1.1:1-2).

I love the hidden wisdom in words like that. The one that always struck me was 'recognize,' like being familiar..yet when broken down is really re-cognize or to recover cognizant memory. :P

I've found Myers-Briggs helpful as well. Is it shocking I'm a borderline INFJ (Advocate) and INFP (Mediator)? lol

Haha! nope. I'm INTP, but my I & T were less extreme when I was on hormones.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59880.83
ETH 2301.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50