WHY YOUR NEW YEAR RESOLUTIONS END UP AS MERE RESOLUTIONS AND WHY SOME OF US DON'T HAVE THEM.

in #motivation7 years ago (edited)

image

At this time of the year some years ago, some serious sobriety fell on me. I told my bosom friend that I was done. I was done with all our vulgar conversations and our relentless chasing of girls. The following year was going to be different. I had resolved in my mind. He was obviously displeased but there was nothing he could do.

Then some days after, the firecrackers were ceasing. The euphoria of a new year was subsiding. Here I was with my friend, analysing the biggest backsides we saw in church on crossover night. My New Year resolution had gone with the euphoria like a puff of smoke with the wind. That was probably the last time I had a New Year resolution.

New Year resolutions are good. In fact, they energize your soul and mind. But they will only serve as avenues to warm your hearts for a short time if you let them remain as resolutions and not put them into proper shape for execution. Yet, many do not have or believe in New Year resolutions but they live a life doggedly committed to personal growth and development. Getting better as a person is therefore not dependent on the resolutions you put up every year or the numerical value.

However, many still follow this path and end up not achieving the desired results. Many resolutions are thought up amidst the fanfare and festivities that
Comeacterize the end of the year. They are developed in the heat of passion with so much emotional colouration and overtures.

Emotions rob people of good judgment and the requisite tenacity for personal development. One day you are all pumped up and reeking of energy for the bumpy ride, the next you are like a punctured balloon hanging down the hand of a dejected lad on Christmas day. I cannot forget the difference between how my sobriety made me feel and how I felt the day we turned backsides analysts.

Come to terms with your feelings. Don’t be fooled by the hyper moments where you feel like Dwayne Johnson. Set resolutions devoid of emotions. Develop piecemeal execution plans. Get yourself an accountability partner if you know you can be a Judas to your Jesus. Don’t be discouraged by the times you’ll fail. Keep being faithful to yourself. Stay true to the process.

With deference to God for life and breath, the difference between a year and another year is just a second. 11:59pm – 2017; 12:00am – 2018. Why wait for the end of each year before deciding to take your personal growth seriously?

I wish you a great 2018.
Cheers!

Reblog to reach others and Upvote if you like this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 57951.98
ETH 3051.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26