How Doing Okay is Better than Doing Great

in #motivation7 years ago

Right now I’m not working on doing great. I’m settling for okay. And that’s just fine.

In fact, I’m working on being my okayest, because today has thrown me some curveballs I was not ready for, and a lot of old wounds are right there at the surface.

image

I feel mired. My heart feels as dirty as my mirror. I will probably cry. I will probably feel anger. I will probably have to force myself to eat and speak because I want to lock myself shut and never open again. It will be a struggle.

That’s okay. That’s me doing my okayest.

Okay means I feel all the shit, but I remember that shit is fertilizer. Something good with grow from this. This is better than feeling great because right now I’m setting the stage for greater greatness.

You with me?

This challenge will make me stronger. This pain will forge a new beauty inside me. Once the soil stops churning, new seeds will be planted and I will grow. I am a garden.

You are a garden.

What are you growing with your pain?

image edited with WordSwag

Sort:  

That needs to be on a T-shirt. I'm doing my okayest. That's an inspiring post and a great perspective to have when life is handing you fertilizer. Hopes your okayest reaps a crop of awesomenessest.

❤️❤️❤️ Thank you for this. What an awesome comment. I guess I need to make a shirt?

I need to be reminded of this concept on the days I'm 'doing my barely hanging on-est,' which would make a terrible shirt. I'd run with yours.

I love it, and second the idea for a t-shirt.

Msg me if you need to talk. <3 xoxo

Thank you so much.

Very true! That's in the middle of amazing to depress. In practice, it simplifies life not having the extreme in emotions, kinda gives us a break, right?

And we deserve that break! Yes!

You took the words out of my mouth.
I am just trying to get by survive day by day and find that spark again.
Life sure did threw me a whole crate of lemons and I don't like lemonade.

Love the part that it's all fertilizer.

Yep. Let those lemons rot. Something better is on its way.

Congratulations @shawnamawna! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58664.80
ETH 2569.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42