Would you do it?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #motivation7 years ago

In 2016, one of the Sirius Satelite Radio Stations that I listen too was coming to Vancouver. It was Channel 41, Faction with Jason Ellis. I have been listening to them for just over 2 years.

They have a comedy boxing tour, I couldn't miss this show! But how was I going to attend?
I just knew I had to be part of this event, as the last Ellismania was in Vegas and it was not within my financial reach.

20160507_193238.jpg

While driving home one Friday afternoon, I heard the Jason Ellis show making fun of us Vancouverites. Stating that our girls didn't have what it takes, and we were all scared to submit a tryout video. Obviously I could tell they were missing their fan base, and needed more short video applications. This was my chance, I went home and set my phone up in my living room and did the best I could. Never being in a fight, and with zero training, I submitted this application with confidence. It was hilarious, I got to hear them on Monday afternoon watching my video. Making fun of me I might add, this fueled the fire. They stated I was accepted, and must seek some training ha ha ha.

20160507_122642.jpg

This fight I was going to be a part of was at, Ellismania 12. Female Musical Chair Fight. That's right, you heard it correctly. This was a musical chair competition, with girls similar in size and some MUCH larger. The object of the musical chairs is to obtain a seat, or you are left to stand in the ring toe to toe with another female. Each fight was only 1 minute, and their was a trained boxing Ref, to ensure none of got hurt. Professional Boxer: Joel Mills.

20160507_180654.jpg

Lets paint the picture, with full head gear, mouth guards, professionally wrapped hands by THE: EDDIE JACKSON, from the UFC. But the best part was each female was wearing a onezie, so that was the best part. Each of us were dressed as animals, vegetables, Minnie & Mickey, and I was "Death" a skeleton.

20160507_213146.jpg

I had the pleasure of making it half way through musical chairs, 5 fights before I had to fight. I was going to fight Hello Kitty, and she was 107lbs heavier than me. I'm happy to say, I stayed on my feet, without a bloody nose. I did manage to get a couple of stiff jabs in, but had to protect more than anything.

I dedicated 2 months one on one training with a local kickboxing coach. I was training each week, one to two times with my coach. While training at home, and maintaining my busy life.

I enjoyed every moment of training, and the physical workout. I am 30 in the videos, and this is the best shape of my life. I also had the pleasure of getting a baby shiner

20160409_220532_HDR.jpg

Hope you enjoyed this, and I will leave you with the final video of the event and 4 of my training session recordings.

![20160508_015553_HDR.jpg]https://steemitimages.comDQmTa61FfF3RU66Z359d5CVsPGCp1qWSc8UvivkbjJc6W4v20160508_015553_HDR.jpg)

![received_10153889898375376.jpeg])

Your, Sapphire Vixen
XOX

Please search for me on twitter as well @sapphire_vixen

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56269.96
ETH 2364.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26