YOUR BELIEF AND YOU

in #motivation7 years ago (edited)

shutterstock_129407504.jpg
image source

Just few hours ago as I was going through some pictures online, I stumbled on a picture that reminded me of the sad incidence on 9/11 in the United States.

It got me wondering how a normal person will wake up and decides to kill himself for what he believes. What if what you believed isn't true?

A great teacher once said

man is wicked enough to destroy himself

How true that statement is. This can only happen when the mind of that person has been patterned to think that way.

The mind of these people have been structured to a believe which teaches that you'll have too kill yourself to live in paradise and they believed it!

Some of these beliefs gets so strong to the point where it's almost impossible to convince these people to believe otherwise.

This just tells us the power of believe. People can now die for what they believe even when they don't have no physical evidence that what they are dying for is real.

There are so many things that has formed our core values today and most of these are things we just believe, we have no physical proof that they are really true.

When growing up , I as always thought the world was a long flat surface, but later I was told that it's round and not flat, this got me thinking how possible it was us to stand on flat surface, Well they said it's gravity.

Sometimes our belief comes to us through what we are being told everyday. I remember being called a block head, moron, olodo, dumbass. These names did not only Make me feel bad, but it reduced my own confidence in myself.

After failing several subjects in class, some thoughts starting coming to my head like

have you seen that you're a failure now ? No one believes in you, everyone calls you a failure, why not quit.?

bigstock-man-using-scissors-to-remove-t-116296193.jpg
image source

Yes, I was failing, but I didn't up on my self, I always knew there was something I was good at, but wasn't quite sure what it was, not until 2007 when I decided to join the choir. I was awaken to a new type of happiness, love and passion.

I started my music (keyboard and drum) lessons and I learnt in 1 month what took others several months to learn.
At the end of the course, I came out the best in music class.

The same @samstickkz who they believed will never pass anything, passed his music courses, what really happened? It was my passion and love for music.

The class in school had people who didn't believe in me, they doubted my ability based on my passed performance. Their unbelief in me greatly affected my own confidence in myself, I thought maybe it's true.

But moving over to studying a course (music) that I loved, I became a success at it. So that means my failure in class wasn't because I was dumb, but because I was studying the wrong subject and was around the wrong kind of people (wrong environment).

Your environment really matters. If you stay around people who always talked you down, you'll hardly believe in yourself.

My success in music school boosted my self confidence and made me believe that I'm actually worth something, not a failure like they made me believe in class.

How did we believe most of the things we have today? It's just Because we trusted the source where the information came from. You boarded a plane without asking for proof to know if the pilot was a good at flying a plane or not, you just believed that the airline must have made the right choice.

Terrorists commit suicide because they were convinced to believe that dying for their belief will take them to heaven.

This is why it's very necessary for us to guard our minds by carefully monitoring what goes in.

If you go to the hospital today and the doctor lied to you that you had HIV. Even if you're healthy, few weeks later you'll start looking sick, not because you truly have HIV, but because of the new information that just came in from someone you trust (doctor).

If you want to succeed in life, you'll need a strict control measure that will help guide and control the information that goes into your mind.

If a lot of junks gets into your mind, they'll create a thought pattern which will greatly affect your beliefs and your judgment on things will be wrong.

But, if you grew up watching inspirational movies, listening to inspirational songs and reading books that will inspire you, you'll definitely be bold and always walking tall,else you'll grow up being the bad guy.

That's why it's necessary to train up a child in the way that child should go, because if that child is left to believe whatever he/she wants, they might get the wrong information that could lead to wrong belief.

‪+234 703 234 6910‬ 20171006_130532.jpg

Guard your heart today

DQmSgvWb7SsQm8TMfvUiyEsbfd7sH3M5YZZa7QRsqV2Q5vk.gif

Sort:  

Man is wicked enough to destroy himself - top quote

Yes boss. We all have a role to play in changing our world

Nice post...we should believes ourself in a positive way...thanks for your post.. @samstickkz

You're welcome boss

Nice post dear.....i didnt believe in myself for long now but after reading articles and stories like this, my mindset cahnged....

Am happy for u dear. @adabless

Wow I'm glad you were blessed by my post

Sometimes the media tends to affect the mind of people regarding life. This was a really good read. I just upvoted.

Thanks for your upvote, I appreciate

Yes of course friend... Very thoughtful post.. We
should always makeup other mind in such a way, that always prepare to say "yes" or "can"
instead of "no"or "can't "...Then we will be able to live successfully in this world.. Thanks for sharing such a valuable post..upvoted.

With this success is sure, thanks

This is thoughtful of u.
In a world where media and internet has taken over, the mind needs to upgrade its sieve to sift what it swallows.

Thanks for this.

Yes, setting a sieve is very important

@samstickkz Thank you for your work, I invite you to evaluate my work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60445.30
ETH 2331.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52