Look Beyond The Action

in #motivation6 years ago

Sometimes, we could be too quick to judge people based on their actions or words - yes, actions carry weight, and could form a major part of our judgemental parameters. But even at that, they could also becloud our sense of judgement. That is why it is important to think first and look into the intent from where the actions are proceeding from before judging people.

Pixabay

Maybe this little story would give you an insight: I went to my friend's house to visit, and her little girl ran to me and said; "uncle welcome! Did you buy something for me?" I didn't want to tell her that I forgot to buy something for her, because I had a promised to buy something for her the last time I came.

So I quickly told her to follow me to the shop opposite their house so I'll buy her whatever she needs. While we got there, I asked her to pick two things - so she went for two apples (a green one and a red one). I still wanted to buy ice cream for her; but to give her a little test before buying the ice cream, I asked her to give me one apple.

Immediately, she grabbed the red one and took a bite from it, she also grabbed the green one and took a bite from it. I was almost feeling disappointed, while thinking in my heart; "I asked the girl for an apple and she started eating it"... Just before I could complete my thought, she turned to me with a smile and said; Here uncle, you can have the green apple, the red apple isn't as sweet as this. I had to taste both to know the one to give you.

You see; I had initially judged her wrongly in my mind based on her actions. There are more to actions than is just seen peripherally. We should learn to look beyond that, and give everyone a fair chance.

Thanks for reading

Peace on y'all

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60166.58
ETH 2964.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79