On The Edge of a Broken Dream

in #motivation7 years ago (edited)

artwork-142877__340.jpg

Dear Steemians, what will you do if you found yourself on the edge of a broken dream?

Are you living your dream, then how do you think people who find themselves on the edge of a broken dream should react?

For the umpteenth time, I was watching one of my all-time favourite movies; The Man in the Iron Mask, a 1998 British/American historical action film written, produced and directed by Randall Wallace when for the first time, I had a fleeting glimpse of the words, “edge of a broken dream”.

I do not know for what reason these written words were allowed a spotlight even if very brief, I may have to find that out but they struck a chord in me and this article is the result of its resonance. Too likely a completely different decoding of the words compared to what it stood for in the film.


fantasy-2861107__340.jpg

A Broken Dream

Dream is one of those words that have a variety of meanings hence the need to let you know which of the ‘dreams’ I now refer to.

Do you remember these famous words?


I HAVE A DREAM.

                            - Martin Luther King, Jr.

If you do, then you know the dream I mean is that which refers to _a cherished aspiration or ambition.



IF YOU CAN DREAM IT, YOU CAN DO IT.

                                - Walt Disney

Walt Disney certainly made achieving our every dream seem like a walk in the park but one has to ask, is it really as simple as just dreaming?

Some people fail to achieve their dreams even with the right mix of the essential ingredients like determination, vision, consistency, passion and hard work.

Blame it on life? Some persons do. Like we are often quick to chant; ’life is not fair’.

True, life does not always reward hard work accordingly or give expected rewards as it should even after hard work has been put in. So, dreams end up unrealized; broken.


On the Edge of a Broken Dream

Imagine you had set a twenty-year goal for yourself you have been working hard at achieving but every time you take that evaluation check, you find yourself less than a step forward from where you had begun or to put it better, a very far distance from where you want to be.

Of course, the days do not expand to having twenty-five hours for your sake neither do they wait for you and so you wake up years later to realize it is the last day of the twentieth year and you are far from being where you had planned to be; a broken dream, unrealized and still no more than just a fantasy.

question-mark-1019820__340.jpg

This leads me to the big question; what do you do when you find yourself on that edge of a broken dream?


What Do You Do When You Find Yourself on the Edge of a Broken Dream?

Have you ever stood dangerously close to the edge of a high mountain or on the rooftop of a really tall building? If you have then you know that there are two ways things could go.

backpack-1381735__340.jpg

• You take a fall you will very likely not survive; or

• You draw back to safety, and go the other way.

Let’s get back to talking dreams.

What do you do when you find yourself on the edge of a broken dream? The way I see it, you have two options.

• Allow yourself fall off that edge into oblivion; or

• Remember that the earth’s shape is best described as spheroid, meaning that there are many ways to revolve without falling off.

There are many who for the reason of an unfulfilled dream have fallen off this figurative edge; some begin to live life without purpose, some decide they just cannot get up anymore and of course, there are those who go the extreme mile of literally ending their lives.

boy-2099858__340.jpg

All men do not dream equal. Depending on how much may have gone into these unrealized dreams, the divers decide to take the plunge into oblivion, bury their heads deep in failure and never rise again.

To what end? Well, what other end could there be? They already ended it.

So it ends there for them. A fool-stop.


On the other hand, the right hand side if you may, are those who are fortunate enough to realize that an unfulfilled dream does not necessarily mean an unfulfilled life.

book-2363881__340.jpg

What do these ones do? They turn the page of the figurative book that is life.

They make a U-turn or return through another route. ’Another route’ used here means that they find another dream or reason to go on.

Does this mean that they will not meet obstacles or constraints on this new course? No, it does not. There may be even more constraints this time BUT they press on.

Is age now against them? They find a way to make their mark despite age constraints, perhaps choosing to affect the lives of younger generations by teaching them all that they have learnt during their own life’s journey.

Will they find another dream? Maybe they will or perhaps they won’t but did they bounce back from the edge? They sure did.

Will they be successful on their second and maybe third trips? Well, I have no sure way of knowing that but I sure hope that they are.

Will they leave their names on the sands of time? I do not know, they may or may not. There are higher chances they would leave footprints in the lives of people they encounter.


What then do I know? Not so much obviously but these I know.

• An unfulfilled dream does not and should not translate to an unfulfilled life.

• Life is hope. When there is life, there is hope.



Images were obtained from Pixabay


Original work authored by @royalrose

Sort:  

Amazing post dear friend , I really liked it , you have potential to do more and if you need my help for anything I am always here for you just comment on my any post and I'll be there for you . Thanks for sharing such an interesting post.

Thank you very much.

Thank You for sharing @royalrose this Post is very informative, great questions and awesome comments..Have a Blessed Day "SteemOn"

Thank you dear. Have a nice day too

good post

Very interesting questions @royalrose! Often our dreams, in the budding hopes of youthful expectations don't become what we imagined. But if we had given up on these dreams, realized in innocence that we don't find at the time, we wouldn't find an answer! The realization of our dreams, although they have metamorphosed into something other than what we envisioned in the heavy, heady excesses of youthful potential, find conclusion in a different path! Fulfillment in experience, evolved, changed but ultimately realised in the journey of life! This is how it has happened for me anyway. If you asked my 17 year old self, what I would be, where I would be and if I had ended up On The Edge of a Broken Dream then they would probably say yes! But if you asked me the same question now, the answer would be no, but I would have to pause long and hard to explain myself. I haven't realized those dreams, but my dreams have grown, evolved and been partly realized in the making. Thanks for your wonderful post, the fact it has inspired such contemplation in the reading is the biggest compliment I could give you. Keep up the great blog posts

Your comment is both insightful and thought-provoking. I don't think life ever allows people to live those heady and excessive dreams. As they say, life happens. We realize at some point that some of the dreams we had were unrealistic and sometimes may not even be the best dreams for us.

Thank @raj808 for this. I wish I had more power to give a deserving upvote.

Thanks @royalrose for the original post. You're both amazing!

Thank you dear

Very articulate response. You have spoken words that eluded me when I was writing this. In retrospect when we take a look at how far we have gone, we realize that for not giving up because of an unrealized dream, our dreams and indeed ourselves evolve and grow. Very well said. Thank you for reading and sharing your thoughts. I appreciate your stopping by.

Music is a cure all for me. Find what you like and it can be inspirational, it can help you feel both good or bad (depending on mood), to me it is like an angel that will lift you and keep you going, giving you renewed vigor and hope!

In case you don't know where dreams come from, they start off as a pixel or a synapse in your brain if you will. Which develops into a thought changing to a desire. Desire is a fork with many tines one of which is envy and if that is the case, a thought driven by envy is not your dream it will end at desire. Envy never carries enough weight to carry you to the finish line. There are many tines on this fork that all are destined for envy and a few that are heading in the right direction and when a desire is driven by hope, hope will carry any amount of weight to the finish line so in my opinion hope is what drives a dream!
Now define the dream, break it down to the smallest of pieces and you will find that this dream takes work (if you are honest with yourself). You already understand this. If a desire takes work to accomplish how do you know how much you may ask? Simple, if it is truly a dream it simply takes all you have got! First off I don't know anybody who is truly happy, no amount of money can buy that for you. But a true dream with desire and a willingness to give it all you've got and tiny little movements towards it via hard work, that is happiness. If you cannot see that, then I would submit your dream is not a true dream. It ended at desire for some reason there are no obstacles that cannot be overcome if you truly desire something that so badly that you classify it as an obtainable dream (which all dreams are obtainable, unless were talking the kind when your sleeping). It is truly the journey to the dream that makes one happy and there are set backs and obstacles. However when you achieve something you desire so much that it hurts, it is time to start working towards the finish line. When you reach the finish line of your dream you will find only one thing! You did not dream big enough!

Wishing you well and don't be discouraged by set backs. If or better yet when set backs happen pick yourself up dust yourself off don't give it a thought and start working.
I have achieved my dreams! I found out that if you don't dream big enough the work stops. The achievement of the dream takes your happiness away.
So @royalrose dream big and if your obstacles are other peoples opinions you are listening to the wrong people!

Then again what do I know, I am old and did not dream big enough.
Wishing you luck and continued success on reaching your dream wanted bad enough you will get it. DESIRE!

When I was a child I caught a fleeting glimpse
Out of the corner of my eye
I turned to look but it was gone
I cannot put my finger on it now
The child is grown
The dream is gone
I... have become comfortably numb

Wow, wow, wow. Thank you for this wonderful comment. There's so much to learn from it. Taking you for taking the time to stop by my blog, read and comment. I appreciate that.

Obviously a very nice person, Thank you!

Welcome to Steemit! Check out my video on all the different apps available on the platform that you can earn money with! You can earn more ways than just blogging!

https://steemit.com/dtube/@noly/bi3nwfv8

This is a very thought-provoking piece. I have never stood on the edge of a broken dream...in many ways, I was very scared to dream as a kid because I was taught to be realistic as a middle-class boy growing up. Even now, some of those characteristics haven't left me alone but I have been fighting; fighting to think bigger, look at setting and fulfilling bigger goals and ambitions and in turn make up for lost time. That said, I believe that I don't feel unfulfilled; I just feel there's so much that I could have done, which I want to do now and I will still give it a shot. Your post, in many ways, has been inspiring.

I'm glad to hear it. Thank you for reading. Best wishes in all your endeavors.

Very inspiring. This reminds me of a dream I had about 10 days ago. It was a Steemian dream. You know when you play too many video games and you dream about the game? Well this happened to me, Steemian style. All I remember was typing an article and clicking the post button. I went to my post and scrolled to the bottom and watched the payout amount skyrocket and the votes go up. As I started to re-read my post, I feel like I realized it was a dream, and I was trying to read what I wrote. I was so excited because the system was working. (I had just signed up to steem about 5 days ago at the time). When I woke up, all I could think about was "What did I write? I want to write that!", but I couldn't remember what I read. Why? Because you can't read in your dreams. Not possible.

That walt disney quote really caught my attention.

If you can dream it, you can do it

Lol. I hope you at least wrote something as awesome as your dream article? I will have to look into what you said about the impossibility of reading in a dream. Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Well in time my awesome dream article can happen lol. Thank you for responding!

It is my pleasure

Hi think that you explain perfectly, in different way, the concept of Dream and i share your point of view. I'm writting under your brilliant definition only beacuse its remind me a famous tv series....Black Mirro, you too?

Black Mirro? I am yet to see that but perhaps I should look out for it. Thank you.

Beautiful thoughts, much to ponder in each part!

Dreams are perhaps one of those things there is no simple answer to... What works for me might not work for you. I don't think there's a recipe for universal success... (unless you want to take it down to the very essence of universal laws and such, haha! Even there you'll find much debate.)

So if you were to take all the whirling and musing from your mind and bring it into your body, I'd be curious to know if you found any clarity and direction there?

What does facing that Broken Dream feeeeeel like?

How does it move through your body? Your posture?

What does your breath do?

How does your face shift in expression?

And then, what changes happen as you ask your body some of the questions you shared above?

When you present different options?

Tap into that juicy body wisdom and magic! Find some authentic wisdom that comes from the inside instead of getting lost in the chaos of everything external... Sometimes the mind just gets in the way of these things... big hugs

Well posed questions and rightly said too. Thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61153.73
ETH 3403.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51