Hump Day Hustle: It Must NOT Be That Important To You

in #motivation6 years ago

A few years ago, back before he made his millions, I was having a chat with my friend @btcmillionaire about a life goal I was struggling with, when he said something that has stuck with me ever since:

Can you imagine how you'd feel if someone told you, that something you've been working on your whole life, wasn't important to you?

I'll be honest. I was kinda pissed off!

(It's funny how the best advice always pisses me off the most.)

"What are you talking about? Of course it's important to me! This is something I've been working towards my whole life. Not a day goes by that I don't think about it!"

His response was pretty simple.

"I just figure if it was important to you, you'd have achieved that goal by now. And if you haven't achieved it, it's because it's not that important to you."

Seems fairly straight forward, right?

Well, I wasn't convinced. He might have seen the murder in my eyes. So, he continued.

"Maybe it's different for me, but when something is important to me, I absolutely obsess over it. I focus every waking moment to achieving that goal, to the detriment of everything else going on in my life. Literally nothing else matters to me"

I went off to stew about this for a while. How dare he tell me that it wasn't important to me!?!

But eventually, I realised... he was right.

You see, I was raised to believe that my effort can affect my outcomes. In my school years, my parents never let me coast my way to a B when I could study my way to an A. They taught me to take responsibility for my life, and that if I wanted to get better results, that all it took was for a bit of effort.

Growing up, you'd never catch me blaming the universe for my woes. Interestingly, I even had this loose view of karma that if good things happened for me, it was because I was putting good energy out into the world.

This "internal locus of control" (in entrepreneur speak) was reinforced a few years later when I went on a bit of a journey of self-discovery while traveling the world for a year... my eyes were really opened to a bunch of limiting beliefs I had about what I could and couldn't do.

But the advice I received that day took things up a notch for me.

It woke me up to the potential of just how much could be achieved if I truly set my mind to it... if I obsessed over it, if I focused every waking moment towards it, to the detriment of everything else going on in your life.

8 weeks later, after intense focus, I hit a huge milestone on the road to my ultimate goal. 7 years later I still reflect on that conversation, every time I see myself not hitting the goals I set for myself, and remind myself that I really need to stop fucking around and get it done.

So, the question for you, who's read this far: What's that goal you haven't reached, and why isn't it important to you? Stop reading, right now, upvote this post, then go do the things you need to do to reach that goal.

Make it important.

Sort:  

Agreed . We must activate the opposite to the old ways . Keep distributing the good stuff !!!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97