You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Quote of the Day!- Leadership

in #motivation7 years ago

Yes, I wholeheartedly agree with everything you said in this post! This quote at the beginning really stuck out to me:

"Leadership is work and it is very hard to find that person that leads for real and not he who craves to lead because he thinks he has to".

That is where the line between a good leader and a bad leader is drawn, in my opinion. The bad leader will aspire to get into a position of leadership because he wants it so that he will look good and gain recognition, and will do whatever it takes to ensure that he shines brighter than everyone else, including stepping on his subordinates' toes and throwing them under the bus. I've had more than my fair share of that kind of "leader," especially during my time in the military.

The good leader, on the other hand, is the one who never really aspired for a position of leadership in the first place, but worked his ass off to shine and become someone that the higher-ups see as worthy of being brought into a position of leadership. It is this leader who inspires those around him or her to also work hard to get to that same level. A true leader doesn't lead to lead, he leads to inspire and help others grow into leaders themselves. He seeks not to enslave others under his leadership, but to free them from such bonds to see their true value and strengths.

Sort:  

(Also, I love that you use a sigil in your posts ;) I use one as well haha!

This is one of the reasons why I love Steemit, you drop a line and you get a chance to learn over a dozen more. Leadership is hard and no matter how many try to push themselves over others, they end up pushing people away.

A true leader doesn't lead to lead, he leads to inspire and help others grow into leaders themselves. He seeks not to enslave others under his leadership, but to free them from such bonds to see their true value and strengths.

I agree, I love that about Steemit as well! People are just giving their two cents to add to your posts (sometimes literally two cents :P), which furthers the discussion and enriches your post even more. It's always boggled my mind how so many people have the wrong concept of leadership and what it means to be a leader. Because it's always kinda seemed like "common sense" to me what a real leader should be doing and how they should be conducting themselves, etc.

Leadership is work and it can only take the person who is out to work to be able to effectively lead. Those who make themselves "leaders" just always knows how to spoil it for everybody else.

Exactly. I actually was fired from my favorite job a few months ago because a new "supervisor" who fashioned himself our "leader" hated my guts because I always called him out on his nonsense when he was just a layperson coworker. So he fed my boss lies and lies and lies and she chose to believe him instead of asking me about my side of the story. Two examples of horrible leadership.

That is just wrong. Sorry to hear that, but I am sure you will find a better place soon enough.

Thank you! Perhaps I already have found a better place...perhaps its name is Steemit :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 60799.23
ETH 2640.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58