Boundaries

in #motivation6 years ago (edited)

boundaries.jpg
Source

Healthy boundaries are essential in any and all relationships. One of my favourite sayings is: 'If the word No is not welcome in a relationship, it is not a healthy relationship.' So many things that have gone wrong in relationships can be traced back to a lack of boundaries. If you had only established those boundaries early the relationship would have been better and healthier and would have lasted longer.

One of the boundaries that we find in nature that gives me endless pleasure is the coastline. That place where the land says to the sea, 'This is it. No further.' I have spent so many hours just staring at this sight, drinking in the sounds and smells. There are many things I learnt about boundaries from watching the waves crash into the rocks. In this post, I want to share the two most important learnings with you.

1. No means no

It is obvious that the sea is not very excited about being prevented from going wherever it pleases. And it is equally obvious that the land is completely unfazed by this. A boundary can only be established in absolute terms. You do not erect a fence in territory that we share. Rather we put up a fence where your territory ends and mine begins. A fence is not a structure easily moved and if we say no one day and yes the next an effective boundary will not be established.

When you establish a boundary, stick to your guns! A boundary brings security on both sides but is only good if it is well-established and clear to all concerned.

2. The fat lady never sings

A relationship of any kind can never be a static thing. People are complex and highly dynamic beings. The interaction between head and heart is constant, eternal and ever-changing. Thus, as an automatic result, the interaction between any two people will ebb and flow causing the necessity that boundaries need to be constantly upheld. Establishing a boundary takes time but it is never done. Don't relax regarding it.

When you establish a boundary, stick to your guns! The moment you remove it, you will lose every benefit of it.

'If the word No is not welcome in a relationship, it is not a healthy relationship.'

Work hard at establishing healthy boundaries in every relationship. It will benefit everyone involved!

@reonlouw



Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189


Sort:  

From my little experiences, take that thought on "boundaries" 2x that. Whoever isn't happy with it shouldn't be surprised when the door hits them in the backside.
People feel more entitled now than ever before.

@reonlouw just started following you, love your viewpoints.

Thank you @mic4sythe. I look forward to connecting with you going forward.

In spite of years of consistent boundary enforcement on my part, my girlfriend still behaves like I just now changed the rules!

Maybe she's waiting for the day I become senile?

More likely, I suspect it's her selective hearing and amazing ability to distract and deflect.

Seriously, her skills of verbal obfuscation can rival those of any hostage negotiator or used car salesman.

Loved your quote.

Namaste, JaiChai

P.S.

The key to being able to say "No" with confidence (sans apologies) is by having a bigger, stronger, more fulfilling "Yes" in life.

Senility does have advantages @jaichai :-) And I so agree with your "Yes". Thank you for a thoughtful comment.

thank you for sharing this! Boundaries is something I'm having to work on, especially since I'm such a go with the flow person... now that I'm single I guess I'll have more time to focus on that!

It is best to practice before you need a skill @corinneiskorean. May this season of being single be a great investment in whatever the future holds for you regarding relationships.

I hope this post will be read by many people. They need to learn the message in it.

High praise indeed @oleg326756. I hope so too as I too think it will be beneficial.

Yes, we need to learn to say no in every relationship.
Thank you for sharing this great post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64143.39
ETH 2638.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80