A Special Funeral

in #motivation6 years ago (edited)

It was my privilege to conduct my aunt's funeral today. It was a sad farewell but a joyous celebration of a life well-lived.

There were two things that touched me deeply and I wanted to share them with you. It will be short and sweet since I know you are too lazy to read a lot over a weekend... :-)

1. Fruit

There is no more absolute evaluation of your life than when it is done. Everyone will speak nice words but the content of their hearts will be visible in their eyes. The Bible says this:

“A tree is identified by its fruit. If a tree is good, its fruit will be good. If a tree is bad, its fruit will be bad.
Mat 12:33 NLT

At the end of your life the fruit of your life will be visible for all to see, never to change again. It will be whatever it is. You still have time to determine what people will see on the day of your funeral. Choose now!

2. Relational

The substance of your life is your relationships. If your relationships are empty, your life is empty. It will not matter what is in your bank account or your trophy cabinet. Prioritise your relationships above everything else. It matters more than everything else combined!

This aunt of mine focussed her life on people. Her children and their children and a whole bunch of other people. Of all the words spoken about her today in celebration of her life, every single one pointed to her relationships. Every title bestowed upon her in an attempt to honour her was relational.

I was a witness today to the celebration of a life lived well. It was awesome! I am inspired to live my life loving people not things. To spend my time with people, not just doing.

My hope is that this will inspire you in the same way.

@reonlouw

Sort:  

kryptonia. my dad will always be remembered by me.

Kryptonia. I remember my close friend who died. She did suicide

Death is a tough process that takes time and understanding to heal from.
The lessons of life are profound
kryptonia: blockgators

I agree with you that you will be remembered by the relationship you build among your family, friends and relatives and of course the good things that you have done when you are still alive.

I hope everyone will overcome sadness and continue a beautiful life.

May God give you and everyone the gratitude and strength to bear the loss of their loved ones,,, from kryptonia@everdope

Descanse en paz. Kryptonia@bon-nom

This post has received a 1.61 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @reonlouw.

Congratulations! You received a 10% upvote from @kryptoniabot.

Remember to receive votes from @kryptoniabot

  1. Run a task on Kryptonia.
    *For those who want to join the growing community, get your free account here: Kryptonia Account
  2. Use the tags KRYPTONIA or SUPERIORCOIN in your Steemit post for 100% vote.
  3. Steemit reputation score above 25.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65910.66
ETH 2696.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.88