"LEADERS OF TOMORROW", How true?

in #motivation7 years ago

african-child.jpg

How many of us are tired of this slogan, well I know I am. When are this children going to become adults, who are the present leaders. I started reading this slogans in my textbooks back in my primary school days, also sang it in our assembly march. How many children have become leaders now? How many leaders have become retired elder statesmen?
I don't think that tomorrow is about to come, I think the tomorrow is now, am living my yesterday's tomorrow today, in my own way I think > children are the leaders of tomorrow, youths are the leaders of today. I refuse to think that "tomorrow" is yet to come. In Africa, the youths are not seen as manpower in a productive industry rather they seen as thug force in times of election disturbances, ballot box snatching. Our minds have been programmed to think that a leader is someone in the government holding political power. In fact, the Merriam Webster’s dictionary defined a leader as someone who influences people. so how many of us, through different roles and avenues have influenced one or two other people. Also, A very interesting article from Harvard Business Review says that “you can’t be a good leader without self-awareness. It lies at the root of strong character, giving us the ability to lead with a sense of purpose, authenticity, openness, and trust it.”
It all begins with YOU, have a self-awareness of the fact that you a leader be in the leadership state of mind. Billie Jean Kings says as well, “I think self-awareness is probably the most important thing toward being a champion.” If we are a little more self-aware of what is going on, then we will take control of a lot of things going on. We will stop the wrong assumption that the tomorrow they told us while growing up hasn’t arrived. We will take more charge of what we do and feel confident and positive. The tomorrow our teachers told us about while growing up is today, Live it, be it.
Image source
www.sahistory.org.za/dated-event/day-african-child

Sort:  

So true... Everything is happening now!
Beautiful thoughts.

Glad you see it my way too

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64168.93
ETH 2768.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72