My Initiation To Steemit

in #motivation7 years ago (edited)

I am Olayinka Dixon-Oludaiye, a Therapist, Coach, Trainer, Writer, Vocational Education and Community Development Advocate. My main interests lie in community education, vocational lifelong learning and wellness.
.

IMG_1510073677394.jpg.
.
I love to see people make academic progress by vocational access because the world has brought education beyond the boundaries of four walls.

My first degree in 1983 after a four year course in English Language and Literature was from University of Benin. This was followed by a useful community service called NYSC, in the University of Calabar where I was initiated into teaching. There, I was initiated into life as a Remedial English teacher at professional level, helping students who had gained admission into various courses, to pass English Laguage exams set by the university.

I left for the UK in 1985, and got my first international job as a Computer Skills and Business Studies trainer, teaching basic skills.

I say all that, to say this. Vocational learning is your everyday acquired skills. I am an Assessor of skills and achievements gained by adults on thier life journeys, that have the potential to help them gain academic recognition and degrees.

I assess on courses accredited by examination bodies like Universities of Oxford and Cambridge, and the Royal Society of Arts (RSA), all of which have a joined forces called OCR. Together, they provide a wide range of courses by which an adult can gain qualifications equivalent to the academic.

By now, you have figured that there are two main routes to qualifications, the academic and the vocational. Interestingly, noone has an excuse any longer, not to be qualified in "something". I love the vocational access (I'm sure you've guessed), because it gives everyone the option to progress in learning, education, and qualifications, and catch up with those on the academic route, and perhaps, even overtake them. Yes, thats the beauty of lifelong learning and vocational qualifications.

As an Assessor, I enjoy empowering people, who perhaps, may have been written off, as "academic non achievers", to bring out the best in themselves, chart a learning or skills acquision through a vocational pathway, and end up on the academic pathway, having achieved a first degree, a masters, or a doctorate. As a Trainer, this is so fulfilling, joyful and rewarding.

I'm glad to be on Steemit. I've only read a few posts, from Sunny Agboju @sungbojus and Onenecha @onenecha. Leaving Comments is the easy part af accrediting others in this platform, but I struggled to find the Upvote, the Resteem and the Follow buttons. I did eventually discover the Upvote because when i clicked the button beside the Vote Counter, the number increased. Not too sure about the Resteem or the Follow buttons though, but willing to find it.

Accrediting others has been my role, my job, and passion for so long, I'm glad to be here. To learn that you get rewarded to post about your passions, is a great motivation.

Many thanks to my good friend, Sunny, @sungbojus, I'm glad for the initiation into Steemit. I've been following passionate training sessions by @FifeBanks, though it all still seems mysterious. I've picked up a few names like @kaynosh. I plan to visit FifeBanks groups more, so I can learn more, and especially, to get rewarded. Rewards are good.

As a motivation, I offer to provide to the first 100 interested people, a Free Workshop on How To Gain Qualifications through Vocational Education. Depending on interests, I will set dates, times and platforms, taking account of your local internet challenges.

The world has become a Global College. Nothing must be allowed to stop you. You've heard the saying. "Noone can stop you, except you!". Well, remember that always. Only you can stop you.

For now, I have learnt the following on Steemit.

COMMENT
UPVOTE
RESTEEM
FOLLOW.

I would really appreciate it, if you would do me the honours.

Thank you for reading, and for joining my learning experience. Thanks also to you guys Sunny, and FifeBanks. Keep doing what you do to empower people.

Sincerely,
Princess Dr Olayinka Dixon-Oludaiye (PhD), CIPM, MPM, PME.

Sort:  

Wow! Wow!! Wow!!!

What an introduction. The most detailed I've read so far (in my 31 days of steeming).

Welcome to the steemit community. You are in the right place to continue training people. I find you a good read already and there is more to come.

I hereby register myself your first student on steemit. Thanks for reading my posts by the way.

Once again, welcome Olayinka.

Hmm.. Thanks. I'm not just reading and "upvoting" your posts, I have logged in on my laptop, just to "follow" you and some others. I see why Sunny @sungbojus said I shouldn't leave Steemit till when I "find time". That time is now. Noted. I will keep returning to check the registrations. Cheers.

@princessyinxie welcome on board, wow ,you have an impressive resume ma,I believe the platform would benefit from your wealth ok knowledge. You may want to read the FAQs to familiarize yourself.

I appreciate your comment. I thank you all in that Steemit Family. I have peeked in a few times, and always have to play "catchup". I will do just that FAQ thing. I appreciate the headsup. @temitopebanks

Use the following tags:
introduceyourself steemit nigeria life motivation

OK.. Thanks for that. Will do so, sharply. Cheers.

Enjoy yourself here with Steemit 😊😊

I believe I am with the right crowd. Thanks, I sure will.

yeah!you're very welcome!have fun!

Welcome, welcome, welcome to this world. It's good to have you in this community

Thank you. I appreciate it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60840.29
ETH 2577.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57