IN YOUR LIFES JOURNEY TO FIND WHO YOU ARE, START WITH THE PROCESS OF ELIMINATION FOR WHO YOU ARENT.

Screen Shot 2018-06-08 at 3.56.15 PM.png

In 2018, we ALL have a lot of options; You can be a lot of things.

👨‍🚒 👨‍⚖️ 🏊‍♂️ 🏋️‍♀️ 🤺 🚴‍♀️ 🎸

You could be:

An Instagram model

A bodybuilder or fitness guru

A high-powered lawyer

A tech startup CEO or App inventor

A singer / songwriter

A Millionaire Wall Street broker

A ‘get rich quick’ webinar seller

An Olympic curling athlete

A DJ / Producer performing in Vegas every night

A banker

A fortune teller

A tornado chaser

A go-go dancer, a janitor, and a travel blogger.

👷‍♂️ 👨‍🚒 👨‍⚖️ 🏊‍♂️ 🏋️‍♀️ 🚴‍♀️ 🎸 🛫

WHO AM I?

We ask this question.
We want to know who we are.
We want to know what our purpose is.
What is our mission for life?

But there are so many options.

Instagram, Facebook, TMZ, Hollywood Reporter, CNBC, Fox News, Sportscenter, YouTube...they are all filled with examples of other people that are doing things that seem fun, seem cool, and we think ‘maybe that’s who we are supposed to be.’

Maybe I should be a BMX superstar sponsored by Monster Energy drinks doing backflips and superman seat grabs.

Screen Shot 2018-06-08 at 3.57.09 PM.png

With all the choices, we become paralyzed. Choice Paralysis sets in.

We are terrified to put our ladder on the wrong building.

Are you suddenly feeling overwhelmed? I am. Lol.

Let’s focus on a solution:

I have always been a fan of Matthew McConaughey. Dazed and Confused is one of those movies I always watch when I am flipping channels, and I definitely can recite too many of the lines from “How To Lose a Guy in 10 Days.
McConaughey has another quote that sticks out to me:

He says, “Defining ourselves based on what we are not, is the first step to really knowing who we are.”

It is the process of elimination.

Many of you know that I have been a DJ since I was 17 years old. I love DJing. I’ve dreamed of headlining EDC or Hard Summer or Ultra Music Festival in Miami. I fantasize about being Calvin Harris making $65 million a year.

But I also needed to ask myself if I have the passion for Music Production and Songwriting that it would take to be Calvin Harris or Skrillex or Marshmellow?

Screen Shot 2018-06-08 at 3.57.16 PM.png

I don’t.

The honest truth is that I don’t love the process enough. That isn’t my passion. That isn’t my lane.

So I learned that I needed to cross that off the list. In the process of defining who I am, I know that I am not ‘Phillip Andrew the millionaire DJ/Producer’ and now I am one step closer to defining “Who I Am.”

Process of elimination.

We need to stop chasing everyone else’s dream, and start crossing things off the list that we know we are not, so that we can get closer to discovering who we are.

I love you all. Have a beautiful day.

  • Phillip Andrew

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59417.60
ETH 2672.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44