Facts or Faith? - Where is the line?

in #motivation6 years ago

The more questions I ask about myself and about the world, the less I handle things as facts. Of course, this does not mean that I don’t take things are facts at all, but their number decreases dramatically as I develop. What I used to believe in without a doubt, I believe in the opposite today because I have had evidence worthy experiences. So fact or not a fact, my own experience is a better proof than words I read.

Screen Shot 2018-10-23 at 12.18.09.png

Furthermore, I also found that anyone who wants to prove his or her point will soon find an article or video that supports their theory. And if they find people who also support it, that’s when it becomes nearly impossible to question that truth. But I don’t want to or dare to believe that just because something was proven to me once, it can’t be changed. My views are not static, truth is not static. I refuse to believe that mankind has all the answers to something so much more bigger than themselves. Mankind found something called ‘science’ to be a tool to prove certain things, but this tool is also limited to our human understanding, our 3 dimensional world and to the laws of physics we perceive.

One of the most controversial issues that I meet every day is the vegetarian and vegan lifestyle. I know the position of the carnivores because I used to be one. Teeth, protein demand, carnivorous caveman and others ... I've heard them a million times, and I've learned this in school too, but my own experience does not support this. I do not hold the belief that humans need meat, nor I try to convince anyone about my truth. My truth, is my truth, and I will not hurt anyone but me if I’m wrong. But my own personal experience supports the theory that we are in fact, not carnivorous.

At my current state I handle any fact with huge skepticismm, because unless I really get to the bottom of a topic, I can’t be 100% certain about anyone telling me the absolute truth. Could it be that big pharma and the food industry manipulates our eating habits for monetary gain? Could be. Am I interested in it enough to dedicate my life to find out the absolute truth? No. So what do I do? I experiment. I eat what I feel serves me the most, I watch other examples and ask questions and then I decide for myself what is evidence for me and what I wish to belive based on those “facts” I encountered.

I keep the door open to new truths, that’s the key. Just because I used to believe in something, it doesn’t mean it will serve me for the rest of my life. Everything around me evolves, so do my beliefs.

By doing this, I turned to a new philosophy of life, a new diet, a new lifestyle and a belief system, because if I insist on me being right, I will not experience, learn, and develop. In our own reality, every fact is different. It is therefore worth opening to the new one, and accepting or rejecting something based on experience. So what is a fact?

I am not willing to limit the world so much that humans are on top of the universe. We are still discovering our world, we have found a science-based tool for answering questions, and we are treating science and faith as 2 end of a spectrum. No. I think they are just different tools that we must use in different situations. One can answer one type of question and the other can answer another type.

Our brains have been programmed and developed for this world, but with other kinds of approaches, we can perceive the world altogether differently.

With the human limitations released, I believe that much more exists of what the eye sees and what human devices are able to explain. But science does not have to explain it all, because many things are not for the brain, but for the soul. Some things don’t need to be said, or measured in order to be true. For example: love. This is something we all know and science can prove it. But my question is, does our heart rate increase, our pupils go wider and our knees shake first and this generates love? Or do we just experience love and our body produces physical reactions?

Some experiences don’t need to be proven by science in order to be true. As well as some can’t be explained with the brain, because the brain is just one organ, but we have more than just one. The heart doesn’t care about science, yet it still knows truths.

For more stories: https://www.facebook.com/mysevenworldslifecoaching

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56949.15
ETH 2401.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33