What's my Motivation?

in #motivation7 years ago

Everyone gets excited about something. I get excited about many things, especially if I was to benefit from it of course. Everything you do is probably going to either directly or indirectly benefit you. But it will make you feel good in the end or even during that certain process. I have spoken to friends of mine that have been excited about many little things such as parties, money, girls, concerts and anything that is somewhat short term. But hardly anyone is in on the long term.

I had to go through a process myself where I needed to understand that if I want something then I gotta go and get it. It will require work but if I applied myself and put in that little extra effort then I will get it eventually. What I needed to learn and understand is how to enjoy the long process and struggle. I knew that the reward at the end of the day is that much sweeter because it took that long to accomplish and to me that is motivation. I was listening to one of my motivators, Eric Thomas and he said, you gotta fall in love with the process. The best example he had was how a lion would see an injured gazelle and it would not chase after it because its already hurt, there is no pride or a sense of accomplishment in that (does he still eat the gazelle I do not know, I would be surprised if he doesn't). He continues to say that a Lion is not a beast because he eats gazelles. A lion is a beast because of the hunts. He also mentions that the gazelle needs something external (like the lion) to motivate him to run, in order to survive. But the Lion however, it does not need anything external, so every single day the lion gets up to go for that hunt. his cubs which are the ones they take care off are a purpose to why he has to go for that hunt.

understanding this actually had me thinking at what I really wanted to do and would i give up that fun life to pursue it (not all my fun life, I know its good to enjoy yourself every once in a while). That second question of would i give up that fun life was somewhat of a stupid question because if I said that I would not give up having too much fun then obviously it does not matter to me as much. The point is, what ever journey I took, I should know that I will be having fun pursuing what I want and going on my hunt for greatness. Understand what you want and would you give up some valuable time that you spend with friends in order to focus on what you want to become. It will always be a matter of a priorities and if it is important to you then you will find time for it, guaranteed.

If you like this post then make sure to upvote it and let me know what you are motivated by :)

lion.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 64721.74
ETH 2633.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82