JUST BEFORE YOU GIVE UP ON YOUR DREAMS

in #motivation6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians, I will like to share my Mentor's article. He shared his experience with us on a group chat to encourage us never to give up on our dreams.He also shared how people tried to discourage him when he was about to start his Business. But he pulled through at the end. Enjoy the story and be motivated.
image
"I don’t think it's the right time for you to start, as a matter of fact, you're still young and need to gather more experience."

"Ade, why not try and relocate, probably, you could get another job instead of starting a business when you don’t even have the capital and connections to get contracts"?

"I think you should still stay where you are right now, you don’t even know what will happen where you're going. What if you don’t get business or contract like you expected?"

These were few of the words of advice people gave me when I was starting out as an entrepreneur in 2013. At that point in time, I was in a dilemma, I needed assurance on where I should go, what I should do, when I should do it, how I should do it, etc. I needed to change my job. I had looked for a better one for several months without a way out. So, I had two options; get a new job or start my business. I had my business name registered since 2011, but within me, I felt it wasn’t time to start as I had once failed in my earlier attempt to start. So when came up with the idea of going into business, a lot of people kicked against it.
In trying to seek people's approvals, I spoke with almost everyone I met then and told them my predicaments. Only few people approved of my idea of starting a business. Some suggested otherwise and others were indifferent.
image
Source
While I was trying to figure out what to do, I spoke with my Spiritual Mentor and his approach was quite different. He asked me questions that other people didn’t ask and the answers to those questions were exactly what I was looking for all the while. I mean, the answers were right in my head, I couldn't just figure them out. From that moment, I began to look at myself differently, I started developing my self esteem, I started working on my business plan, I started building my confidence and looked at myself from a different perspective.
image
Source

Three questions that I kept asking myself during that period were:
  1. Will I ever get to start pursuing my own business or career if I don’t start now?,
  2. Will my next decision not have any effect on my dreams, goals, aspirations and vision?
  3. There are so many people depending on my success; how long will I keep them waiting?

My ability to provide answers to these questions, coupled with prayers and the good advice from the good people around me, prompted me to start and I have never looked back one day in regret. I will not deceive you that it had been easy, but I can tell you that I found grace where people thought I would find shame. Actually, my life has always been a definition of God's grace.
image
Source
I've just shared my Startup Story with you, so you can be inspired to live your dreams. You can start that business idea, pursue that career, start that training session, start that relationship. See, no one in life is recognized for "wanting to achieve a thing", only those who "deliberately achieve" are celebrated. What do you have in your hand that looks so little? That’s all you need to start from where you are. Our business will be four years officially by 1st of June, 2017. I'm grateful to God for how far He has brought us and where He is taking us.

Four out of the many lessons I've learnt so far:

  1. Don’t let people's opinions about you, form your thoughts or self esteem, else, you will never do anything.
  2. Remain focused on your vision, dreams and goals. People will try to bring you down and make you feel you don’t amount to anything, just stay focused and keep doing it, they will see you one day.
  3. Don’t be intimidated by anyone's achievements. Fear is the beginning of every failure. Once you can overcome your fears and you're able to start, the rest becomes a lot easier.
  4. Don’t keep so many "unnecessary" close friends. Successful people don’t have many close friends, they only have few good and quality close friends. Trim your Friend's list down to the people who have the same or almost the same vision with you. These are the few people you need to succeed in life.

Finally, remember that there are some lives that are tied to the success of your purpose in life, don’t you ever fail them, if you do so, it may be very difficult for them to succeed too. Start Anyhow, Start Anywhere! You will Succeed!!!
#SuccessBootCampNigeria
#Inspiration
#MrAdeObasa
This story really motivates me as an entrepreneur, never to give up on my dreams.

DONT GIVE UP ON YOUR DREAMS.
I AM @midesignature

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by midesignature from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

The third question inspires me to do more:

There are so many people depending on my success; how long will I keep them waiting?

Thanks mide for motivating me

It actually motivates me too. Thanks to My Mentor for the insight. Thank you @tobah for reading through

You're welcome. Lovely days ahead ♥

@resteemator is a new bot casting votes for its followers. Follow @resteemator and vote this comment to increase your chance to be voted in the future!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95