Effort is Key - Post number 2 FINALLY !

in #motivation7 years ago

So a few days ago I officially reached the age of 20 , or "level 20" as all the edgy gamers would say, and I decided to talk about something quite ....... personal, and no it's not about the corpses in my basement... Just kidding I don't have a basement. On a serious note though I want to start off this post with a story , your typical bedtime story ...... It is cliche and sits on a cringe level of over 9000 but hey it's the moral that matters ........... And I needed content but nevertheless I shall share it.

Skipping past the "Once upon a time" part , the tale begins with two brothers - Deek and Yeman. Both lived on a farm , plowing corn crops for a monthly profit. One night the brothers stumbled across an odd note buried in their dad's old clothing chest. Their dad , who disappeared a few years ago, explained on the note that he went on a journey to find an old legend named the "Snow bog". According to the scriptures(my crazy imagination) , the Snow Bog is an ancient creature that lives on the highest peak of the world. If you manage to climb this titan-sized mountain and meet the creature at the very top , he will grant you immediate soul salvation.

This became Deek & Yeman's ultimate quest , to meet the Snow Bog. Both traveled to the mountain to start their mission in finding this divine creature. Deek decided to physically climb the mountain due to his past experiences with the windmill. after a few days of preparing , he grabbed his hand-crafted pickax and began to slowly escalate himself onto the mountain. Meanwhile Yeman attempted the same method but failed due to his terrible fear of heights. After a few days Deek managed to reach the top whilst poor Yeman was still stuck at the bottom.

Yeman didn't give up though , "I will reach the bog no matter the costs" , he thought to himself. So he decided to build his way up , to craft a bridge that swirls up towards the peak. He started designing , buying the materials & tools he needed , placing each plank step-by-step and carefully ensuring the safety of this construction. And then after 10 years of patience and hard work , Yeman finally reached the top and was able to meet the Snow Bog and reunite with his brother and father.

And that is the end of my short yet simple story. I wanted to share this tale to basically elaborate on the moral of it and how one can use it as a "beacon of hope" if you will. We all have this "Snow Bog" in our lives , this main goal that we want to achieve , I mean that's what we do as human beings we desire purpose , it's what makes us want to live. And sometimes the problem is time and comparison , we look at other people with the same goals , the same mission in life and we start to compare. We look at THEIR progress and how fast THEY advanced and then you wonder "why not me ?". you're beginning to develop a sense of doubt in your ability to achieve your goal and then eventually ....... you just give up. you say stuff like "nah this isn't for me" or " I'm going nowhere with this let's just focus on something I CAN do", all because of you watching somebody else reaching the peak of the mountain. I was a victim of this negative mindset , I gave up on a lot of things and I greatly regret that I did, especially with my drawing/painting............. But now thanks to British-American Author , Simon Sinek , I started from scratch and within a year , this was my improvement:

2017


Ocean Scene3.png

2018


Ocean Scene2.png

The reality is you will eventually reach the finish line no matter who you are or the amount of time it takes as long as you stay focused on your own work and work hard, you WILL still get there.

Life is not a race , it's a fishing contest :D

Sort:  

That is a fantastic little story and I love the lesson behind it :) Great job man!

Love the story line, the art is fantastic with a good reason to motivate others @mawshul

Congratulations sticking with your plan, it really turned out superb.

Congratulations @mawshul! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @mawshul! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57941.45
ETH 2579.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39