How to keep your students in class - tips to teachers

in #motivation8 years ago

As a math teacher, I had 50 minutes to give the main subject, to present it in an interesting way, to keep the attention and, the more important, to keep the students inside the class.
I used this method with children from 10 to 13 yo and it resulted incredibly successful.
I had a class money. A piece of paper, signed by me, that valued one way-out. The student, by instance, needed to drink water. He or her would give me one of the papers, and I wouldn't even look angry. The only rule was that I shouldn't be in an important moment, as to presenting the mainly subject of the day. All of the students received four papers each month. As I had five classes each week, they would have the possibility of going out four times in a total of at least 20 classes.
During all the time that I used this method, I haven't got even one student who used the four papers. The reason was that each group of four papers valued 0,25 points in whatever test grade the student chose. If the student had received the grade 8, it would make it 8,25.
Other teachers didn't understand it. I even once received severe critic, but I can tell my students soon created ways to not going out in our classes. They would bring bottles with water, as I used to encourage them, for example.
There were a lot of homework to make the papers in a unique way that no one could imitate. I printed the name of the month, and signed each one. Afterwards, I covered with plastic paper.

Sort:  

Interesting. Did the students develop a marketplace for the class money?

Very good idea!! rs. The students were young and naive. I got notice of just one student, who didn't need his "money" .. that gave his. But, as the grade could reach more than 10, the students with excellent results wanted to excel their limits. Plus, it was extremly expensive for them to obtain .. to stay in class without leave .. I'm glad no one had your idea!!!! hehe

Hi! This post has a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 5.1 and reading ease of 87%. This puts the writing level on par with Jane Austen and JK Rowling.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56552.34
ETH 2332.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35