How To Deal With Procrastination (The Old Fashioned Way)

in #motivation2 years ago

Running man.jpg

Procrastination is the enemy of consistency.

Procrastination is so relaxing that you don't know how it ends up being a habit. It just happens.

Let me give a relatable scenario.

Yesterday, you were like, "I'm going to be posting on LinkedIn or my WhatsApp status, at least once a day. It could be a short story, something inspirational or a quote. Yes! I can do it!" You are feeling all motivated and stuff, and you take a tragic step and say, "I'll start tomorrow. I'd even set alarm for it". (Well, I was good at that 😂)

Today. 8 a.m. alarm is ringing out loud.

One scenario: You are on your bed. Laying around obviously. On your phone, just scrolling.

Second scenario: You are still sleeping. Having an awesome dream you don't have plans of ruining.

Then the obvious reaction for the alarm happens. It starts with a hiss and hitting the stop bar and muttering under your breath, "I'd do it later."

The 'later' comes and there is another word. Tomorrow.

As I said, Procrastination is a habit that is learnt without us being conscious of it. It is what defines us. What will happen tomorrow depends on what happens today.

I know it's a hard journey. I've passed through it and is still on the journey. Grind on. Go on. Someone is watching.

Let me let you on a little secret I use.

I'm not perfect on being consistent. I procrastinate a little but try my best to achieve that particular goal, even though it takes me one week. But there is something that helps me or should I say, forces me to be on track.

I call them rivals. People that are in the same field as mine; that are either close to me (my friends) or those I envy on social media. Just a person or two from there. And how I pick, I see one who has a high amount of reactions, and whose feed constantly appear on my timeline.

So in my mind, I say, "I started writing with this guys. I can't allow them pass me!" Trust me when I say, this sentence has helped me a lot of times. I might decide to take a day or a week off (for no reason at all. It was that bad), and I go on my WhatsApp status, and see them either advertising their newest article or randomly writing something. And I be like, "Onyinye!!! What is wrong with you?! See what your mates are doing!", and immediately jolt myself back to work.

Crazy mind, right?

Create an internal enemy within yourself. Find a few persons that you feel you are equal to or are better than you. Mind you, it shouldn't affect your relationship outside.

Constantly tell yourself that you are better than he/she and you shall reach the top first. Strive to be better and consistent.

If they post on their WhatsApp, post on Facebook and WhatsApp. If they post twice a week, post three times a week. Each information you share must contain value.

Struggle to be uncomfortable. Then see yourself getting results. Don't forget to appreciate little wins.

In my next post, I'll talk about the major problems that affect intentionality/consistency greatly and makes procrastination our comfort zone.

Till then, I hope this article was good enough to make you want to be better.

Start! Repeat! Don't stop!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58665.81
ETH 3153.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44