Rainy Thursday - Don't be hard on yourself. Go easy on yourself. You'll do better work, anyway.

in #motivation7 years ago

IMG_4170.JPG


As I sit here...

...before going in to teach the little munchkins that will all vie for my attention, pull on my clothes, punch me in the balls, try to talk to me all at once, and call me "old man! old man!" some thoughts cross my mind.

Today I have simplified my lesson.

I was going to try some big ornate project, but I ditched it. We are going to do simple moving activities today, because I don't feel like burning out, and I want to enjoy both the munchkins and my day.

Overthinking and putting too much pressure on yourself can kill creativity, and the flow and spontaneity of the moment. Today, dear reader, and/or fellow Steemian, I encourage you NOT TO TRY TOO HARD! ;)

I think you'll find as you relax you tend to do better, higher quality work anyway, if simpler and less "ornate." This seems to me to be how nature works. Very practical.

Have a great day, everyone.

~KafkA

IMG_6356.jpg


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as Facebook and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Sort:  

Agreed entirely! (said he, having just finished a post about "having too much on your plate")

Pretty much the same conclusion I just came to... there can be great beauty in simplicity.

Thanks! Just stopped by your blog and read that post. Excellent stuff!

Work smarter, not harder, right?! Needed this message today. Thanks for the brainfood. :)

No problem. Glad to hear it.

M learning this lesson from Steemit because few days back as new steemian i was very worried what to write or how to go ahead,i enjoyed it little but worried abt it most but as i now go normal and just comments others post freely i become happy and flying myself with others....

Glad to hear it!

@kafkanarchy84 Enjoy your munchkins and yes.. no ovethinking; keep it simple :)

Simple living and high thinking, is a state of good health and happiness. Stress is a kind of killer, so little bit of relief and relax makes our living easy and beautiful. Meeting you people my attitude towards life change completely,now I am living it with joy and happiness. Thanks for the great supports and energetic power which makes my thoughts green and lively. Have a very beautiful day friend. Happy steeming.

Meeting you people my attitude towards life change completely,now I am living it with joy and happiness.

I am so glad to hear that. Enjoy your day today.

It's my pleasure, to share with you, I think you did not have follow me yet, please do me the favour.

Thank you for giving us good motivation. success for you my friend

Thank you. I needed to read something like this. I'm taking your words to heart, especially not putting too much pressure on myself.

So glad to hear that, @sportguy84. From a fellow "84," have a great day!

Haha...I can honestly say now that I achieved my goal at work today. I didn't try too hard. You're right though, there's such a thing as over thinking things. Sometimes kids have a way of teaching you the direction that you're supposed to be going today. @kafkanarchy84

Haha...'old man old man' and being punched in the balls hurts. Hard to stay focussed and motivated with balls that hurts. More like pain and anger to me.

More like pain and anger to me.

Believe me, I feel those, too! ;)

Yes pain n anger...and u wish u r a jedi master so u can inflict some real pain on the rascals. 😂

Always great advice. Do you work in education? If so, what ages and subjects I am a teacher as well.

I do. I teach English here in Japan to kids from age 3 - 12. How about you?

I teach high school English/ Literature back in America now, but I taught a similar age range in China at an English learning school about 5 years back.

Very cool. Really want to visit China sometime.
Did you enjoy your time there?

Yeah, it was an important time for me. I couldn't live in any of the big cities again because of how dirty and crowded they are, but I saw some amazing places there too. I was young and single as well, so it was kind of like college 2.0 for me. Partied a lot but had to make it alone and be somewhat responsible.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 59476.67
ETH 2299.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48