Being Better At Sunset Than You Were At SunrisesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #motivation6 years ago (edited)

Being Better At Sunset Than You Were At Sunrise....png

There was a time...So very long ago...Where I was not on the Steemit platform and had no idea that this glorious space existed at all.

Scary really...Horrifying in fact!

And my blogging platform of choice was WordPress and the blog was Plus 1 Daily

The brand and concept came from years of studying personal development and success by reading the hundreds of authors and leaders in my personal library...

IMG_0142.png

(Seriously....I have an addiction to reading...That's only 3 of my 6 bookshelves...)

Anyways....After the countless hours of studying I discovered this concept talked about by many of the thought leads in the industry. Some referred to it as 'Kaizen' , a Japanese word for constant improvement...Others like one of my favorite authors Darren Hardy named it 'The Compound Effect' ...

I formed my own ideas and concepts from their teachings and came up with a daily mission statement;

"To be better at sunset than I was at sunrise..."

And that's how the Plus 1 concept was born.

2015-07-03_1912.png

The idea is to be better by doing 1 simple task more than you did the previous day.

  • Try something new today.

  • Write a blog post or create a vlog

  • Watch a Ted Talk.

  • Read an extra chapter in that book on your coffee table.

  • Develop one new relationship.

  • Reach out to one new potential customer or subscriber.

  • Welcome one new Steemian in the 'IntroduceYourself' tag stream.

  • Comment on or ReSteem one of your followers posts.

The possibilities are endless especially here on Steemit. Do the little things every day that will start to snow ball down the road. It can be life changing...

Doing just one of those tasks above every day this week gets you 7 steps closer to your short term goals. If you did just 1 'new' thing every day for this month you'd be 30 steps closer. And a Plus 1 every day for a year, that's 365 steps closer to your BIG goals!

Please note none of these daily tasks cost you money and they don't take up a ton of your time. You just build into your daily habits and watch your results start to soar!

And if you got started today, in a few years from now you would be laughing...

Plus 1...Pushing yourself every day, to do more and be more!

So why am I even bringing this up on Steemit?

Part of the attraction I've had with this community and platform is that it's a blogging community at it's core. Sure there are some amazing apps that you can leverage to build your brand through live streaming @dlive , videos @dtube , photography @steepshot and podcasting @dsound ...

But when I strip it all down, this was my replacement for WordPress. I could use it as a hub and leverage all the amazing apps available I listed above right here. So it is my 'Platform of Choice!'. And I haven't looked back...

And with that, I've been a sponge for the first few months that I've been in the community. And the recurring theme I've read from all the leaders here on Steemit is to...

Create. Daily!

This is my Plus 1 now!

6 of the 7 days of the week, I will be creating content. And every piece of content I put out there I will try my best to add more value.

Plus 1!

The tips I've learned from some of the members of this community have been priceless and I will add their advice into everything I do. I will try to be better than I was the day before.

My content will hopefully become much more valuable to the Steemit community every time I press 'Post'

Plus 1 every single time you step up to bat :)

And as for the rewards?

What an amazing bonus!

Sure people are gloomy about the price of Steem right now but I don't mind it at all. Simply put, you may only make 1 Steem dollar from your posts that you create today...But what will the Steem dollar be worth tomorrow? Or in a year or two from now?

So again...My Plus 1 is simple...

Create value today , get better for tomorrow and be very excited for where the Steemit community will be in a few years from now....

To the moon :)


UpvoteFollowResteem.png

Sort:  

Ooohhhh, I like it! "To be better at sunset than I was at sunrise..."
Makes perfect sense too, since I'm always trying to catch sunsets that end the day beautifully... What better than after being that little bit better, nature's forces endorse your efforts with a showtime of the elements! :)

Appreciate the comments :)

Yeah that's my goal...Always to try to be a little bit better than the day before. Most of the time, it happens. But other days I take a few steps back...Makes for a fantastic adventure :)

I still post on my Wordpress site every Saturday, when I post here on Steepshot. But yeah, steemit, busy and other apps certainly got much more of my attention lately, and with good reason, thinking of their potentially awesome future. I love motivational posts! :)

LOL Thank you sir! Yeah I feel like Im 'cheating' on my WordPress blog but I'm just more excited about this platform. And it serves everything I need for content creation.

I like it. I like it a lot.

I guess maybe I have forgotten to post on my wordpress site...

I'm glad to see the logo here, I think it will really work here.

Thanks man. Yeah I was poking around the old blog and noticed I hadn't posted there in a while LOL I've ben so in love with Steemit and everything here, figured I should start posting Plus 1 style content too here now :)

Wow how interesting!
Keep up the good work!

Thanks for the comments :) Appreciate it!

You got a 55.69% upvote from @brandonfrye courtesy of @jongolson!

Want to promote your posts too? Send a minimum of .10 SBD or Steem to @brandonfrye with link in the memo for an upvote on your post. You can also delegate to the bot for daily passive earnings. Learn more here

You got a 2.40% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @jongolson!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57859.61
ETH 2966.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67