Don’t let the past dictate the future.

in #motivation7 years ago

This is the first philosophy that I didn’t hear someone else say, or read on some inspirational quote on Instagram, that I live by.

LOOK AT THIS.jpg

The reality behind “inspirational” quotes. Your likes, shares and plagiarised posts are all just analytics baby. You are just a cog in the machine… wait no skip this I’m trying to inspire you!

Now I am sure I am not the first person to think of this, I just haven’t heard anyone else say it. However at it’s core, it is such a basic concept I am sure there are thousands of other phrases, that basically mean the same thing. However the basic concept of this phrase can be applied to everything.

For instance, our very existence as living beings on this planet is only quantifiable by our concept of time. Time only moves forward. No matter how much you act based on past actions the past is done, get over it.

This is why I live by these words. Never think you know everything. You don’t. If you become complacent or comfortable you lose. Never think today is just another day, it’s not, it’s what you make it.

“Yeah man, now I’m inspired to go make my own future!” – this is what you thought in my head.
“But wait, It’s not about a quick shot of inspiration young buttercup. It’s about knowing how to stay ahead of the game.” – Me teaching young buttercup a life lesson I think I get at 23.

Having this principle in the back of my mind hasn’t come without it’s pitfalls. Thinking like this means you will recognise when certain things become a waste of time. I hate this, but I have learnt to deal with it. So whenever you start a new job or take a new course, whatever you are doing you will notice a lot of lessons that are required, are essentially pointless.

For instance I am a media student. When I have to learn who invented the first ever camera, as part of my qualification, it seems redundant. In all honesty I have never been a history buff, but knowing the history of the camera doesn’t necessarily make any better at using one today.

The reasons behind why this still happens are usually trivial. But whats important is that you recognise when the past and its teachings won't benefit you. Don't waste your time.

“So what is your point, oh grand wise master?” – buttercup
“It is this…” – Master of Time and Life advice, Me

The point I am trying to make is that whilst I advise this mindset. Not everyone believes in it. If you are a student I can almost guarantee your teacher doesn’t. But I still use it. It boosts your confidence, admittedly by making you shameless, but that's not gonna hurt anyone.

Maybe your reputation, but your reputations value is subjective. It means you can live in the now. Don’t dwell on the past. Dwell on today's mistakes they are the ones that are insolvable mountains of embarrassment. Savour them. Live in them.

23380284_1551925261554976_3969414247013746013_n.jpg

“You have learnt all I have to teach you buttercup” – Time Wizard
“Great, can I go now? … oh and my names not buttercup, and for the record even if it were it’s Buttercup, with a capital B, learn grammar you idiot. And take of that fucking wizard hat and get that Flavor Flav clock from around your neck. Im sure someone in the past told you, you can’t go outside like that but you decided the “future is yours”, weirdo” – Mean Buttercup
“Too mean…” – Me as I cry and blow my nose into the wizard hat my mum sowed me.

Follow me on Twitter @ Jackopalypse
Tell me what words you live by? ... Do you have a wizards hat?!

...Also This is my first ever post here, I thought instead of a generic hi, my name is type of thing, I would let you all know a little about my mindset so you know me a bit better. Besides you know my name if you have found this article. All I will say is I am a student and make videos, so expect videos in the future.

Sort:  

Well I've always known if you wants to have a good future then you have to work hard in your present, yeah it's true if you had a bad past don't let it dictate your future. Just focus on the present and your past will never bother you. Do it for yourself. 🌟🤗

Catch something funny here 😂


https://steemit.com/funny/@asteemian/will-you

I did say this attitude comes with risks 😂

Yes, won't make the king in a short time 😂

Currently I see time as measured by my health. How long I have here will mostly be influenced by how well my biology uses energy, which will be dictated by wether I attune to reality as it is, or my perception of same. The more I feel, the less I think, the less I think, the more I can feel. Think or Feel, only one is real....now thinking from a place of open curiosity without becomeing stuck on meanings is very much like feeling - like the most prehistoric membrane sensing its environment and becoming enmeshed in the greater flow of organic matter as it cycles in out of life and death. In and out of complex relationship...great post, I like the way you think, steem on!

Thank You! I appreciate it not sure I fully understand your reply but I agree health is wealth got to look after yourself.

@jackkelly when did you arrive?????!!!

Welcome to steemit dude! so glad to see you here!

What a GREAT first post btw. awesome work

I got the email today and this subject was on my mind because uni 😂 so I thought why not start here

Welcome to Steemit. I think you will like it. There are plenty of people who love talking about cryptocurrencies, but lots of other interests too. Have fun

Thank you I am new to crypto so I am in no position to talk about that and it seems like there is a whole bunch of people doing it way better than I could so Ill just hope people want to know whats going on in my head 😅

Even if the teachers hold your mindset, there is little they can do about it.. the system dictates the rules for them. Sad.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60754.23
ETH 2913.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31