GIFT/TALENT IS NEVER ENOUGH - LOOK INSIDE!

I read a post recently on steemit, talking about gifts and talents of diverse kinds, and that kept me pondering for a while. I got linked again to this same topic while having a random discussion with a friend and he was even more pleased to share with me his personal experience of what he had seen in Akwa Ibom, Nigeria. An 87year old man pulling a motionless car with his neck with just a rope tied around it.

images (3).jpg
Show of strength

He had an opportunity of a chat with the octagenarian and their conversation goes thus. ( this is an abridged version. My friend's name is Udoh ).

UDOH: Hello

MAN: Hello

UDOH: it's amazing to see a man of your age doing this. How do you come about doing this

MAN: I've always known I have something special in me but, I never took it seriously, but of late I get the drive to do certain things

UDOH: considering your age, what motivates you?

MAN: Age motivates me. I thought within myself what actually can I do to draw attention and get people talking about me even when am gone, considering my age. So I decided to look within and I found this

UDOH: How do you get this done?

MAN: "Nothing good comes easy. I practice and exercise daily. It hasn't been easy, I sweat through it. You can only use your gift meaningfully if you have the percieverance to go through hard work"

Here, is actually my point, if you want extra then you have to give and do more. So many people are roaming around the streets today with wasted talents/gifts just because they couldn't fan it to flame. Everyone has something special in them, in whatever field or discipline you can think of, science, Art, just look within and bring them out. But beyond bringing out your talent or gift is the work you put into it.

unnamed.jpg
In a local contest

My conclusion is that talents and gifts are not enough, hard work does the magic, and it pays.

Sort:  

Congratulations. This post has be selected and curatrated by @steemnaira community.


Join On Us on Discord on Steem Nigeria Server

https://discord.gg/PDEFpzg


Thank you...More power!

You are actually doing great my friend. I have added you to my notification list. I want to be reading your posts.

Wow... Thank a lot! You are indeed a motivation.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60589.35
ETH 2628.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53