I am the best Maths teacher in the world! :)

in #motivation7 years ago

Image source

Once you see that a child's self image begin to improve, then you will see the significant gains in achievement areas, but you will see a child who is beginning to enjoy life more.  Wayne Dyer

I had a great feeling of relief the day that I decided to make room for fun in the classroom. Every single day I make a point to ask each and everyone about their day, even if it takes ten minutes.  I have long since realized that children are only children, and if you put in effort with them,  you get so much more back.  If I take a little time in class to tell a joke or to tell them something about myself, I have realized that they are far more open to learn because they are more relaxed. 

To have open discussions with them, make them realize that I am also only a person. I often tell them things that happens during my day and this way they have come to respect me more and I don't have many disciplinary problems. I get along great with my students, because they trust me, but the feeling is mutual. 

I teach Maths and I have come to love this subject, and not because I am good at calculations or that I am an expert in any way...because that I am definitely not!

I have come to love Maths because I can see that they learn so much more than the basic math skills. They learn to be confident, and they learn that it is ok to make mistakes.  They learn to be proud of themselves EVEN if they are not perfect and even if they make mistakes.  I teach them a mixture of life skills and Maths and that is what they appreciate. Some days when I see that it is impossible to explain something because it is too late during the day and they have no attention span left,  I will tell them that I am tired and then I read them a story. 

Today was not one of those days and I had the Grade 7 students with me and we started on a new topic, the basics of Algebra.  Now usually when we start with Algebra I have to run and lock the class door because one of my students named Rohini, usually tries to run out the door by just hearing the word Algebra!

Image source

But today was different. I've postponed this lesson for the whole week and have done more revision on older work just to avoid this lesson,but I knew I could not postpone it any longer. I knew that if I don't explain this in a way for Rohini to understand then she will struggle with this for the rest of the year. 

Surprisingly it all went great!  Rohini understood everything! I was so proud of her...and of course I was proud of myself too...but the best of all was when Rohini left the class after the lesson, stopped at my table and said:

"Ma'am, you are the best Math teacher in the world!"


Now if a student believes that...who am I to disagree! :)

If you enjoy my content please follow me:

Sort:  

That's great. I love the "wouldn't even know y" joke

This comment has received a 5.00 % upvote from @lovejuice thanks to: @theabsolute. They have officially sprayed their dank amps all over your post rewards. GOOD TIMES! Vote for Aggroed!

You have the makings of a great teacher because you care not only for the subject of math but the students. I found when I worked with patients, if you show your interest in them, they thrive and blossom into something greater. I loved this post because it showed a special and gifted part of your love for students. Because you show that you care, you will get back ten fold from them. It was a total pleasure reading this. Excellent work @giantbear!!!!! :D

Yeah for sure if the kid is happy then keep him happy, he will still be talking about you when he finishes Grade 12 - Good Job !!!!!

Keep up with the good work, we need more educators like you in this world.

That child is just awesome - and they do love you very much

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Sep 15. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $15.57 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Sep 15 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

@giantbear Sharing to acquire this observed a lot more (and maybe open the eyes of a few)! Thank You for any effectively submit and documented write-up!.

you care not only for the subject of math but the students so i think you are the best teacher..great job keep sharing ..god bless you

Loved joke. Texted to my granddaughter and she loved it too.

@giantbear A pleasant put up..I am exciting. Resteemed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67975.29
ETH 3240.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66