What Is Success and How Do You Define It?

in #motivation7 years ago

When I was a kid, there was one subject that was repeatedly given to us for essay writing class: “Which one is better, knowledge or wealth?” It was a real cliché and the essays students wrote were also mostly stereotypical.

On the one side, there is little doubt that you are successful if you achieve your desired visions and planned goals. As such, happiness and success are mostly a subjective state and you can’t rely on any specific objective metric to measure it. You can’t just say that anyone who has achieved a certain level of skill, wealth, social status, etc is successful. Success for any individual has a specific meaning.

The problem with a subjective definition is that we don’t always have a clear-cut vision for ourselves. Going back to the above-mentioned cliché, we usually want both knowledge and wealth. Besides, even if you have chosen a clear path, at what level do you reach satisfaction with your performance?

I think that success should be defined based on the realization of the capabilities and potentials of each individual. The more you realize your capabilities and potentials, the more successful you are.

MaxPixel.freegreatpicture.com-Elephant-Auto-Composition-Giraffe-Dream-Surreal-333815.jpg

Image Source: Max Pixel. License: CC0 Public Domain.

Do you even remember the dreams you had for your future when you were a kid? Did you follow those dreams or did you choose another path based on the limitations and hurdles of the real world? I think it is never too late to start following your dreams, and to attempt to realize all your potentials.

Sort:  

Hello @ghasemkiani! I'm new!! And found you via my friend @scipio. Nice to meet you!
Char

PS: I code too!

Good! Comment to people, interact with them, you'll learn how things go just fine this way!
Glad to see you've discovered my buddy @ghasemkiani too! He's pretty cool actually! He's a medical doctor, a JS coder, and a Persian-English Idiom Translator slash Book Writer!

So basically jack of all trades and master of none.

Hello @femdev. Nice to meet you. Looking forward to reading your posts.

Thank you @ghasemkiani !!!!! I already have 3 followers in just 2 hours or so! I think I will just upvote people and comment a lot first! XD

PS: I just saw your "estimated Account Value" in your "Wallet": wowwwwwww.... Did you earn all that with blogging here? Could I make that much on Steemit? I had no idea....

Actually, I bought 30,000 steems a few months ago. But my earnings were also not so bad.

You bought 30,000 Steem Power! That's.... a lot of money, right? More than 150,000 US Dollars ? Really?

Haha... that's actually pretty sweet (and naive! :P ) of you! You first found @ghasemkiani , only noticing afterwards that he's rich as well! :-) That's how true friendships begin!

At that time, I paid 9 bitcoins for it.

9 Bitcoins? May I ask you when you paid them? (Sorry if that's a rude question, but I'm just a curious creature!)

No problem. Between July and September 2017.

@ghasemkiani - You are defining success by standards in the outer world. And that is one valid measure.
"success should be defined based on the realization of the capabilities and potentials of each individual. The more you realize your capabilities and potentials, the more successful you are."

But, are all successful people who realize their potentials in the outer world happy? Satisfied? Content? Loving? Fulfilled? Some are but many aren't even with their great "successes" because their outer success has to be balanced with inner success.

The development of the inner Self brings great fulfillment just by itself, without anything from the outside. Then everything done in the world is a joy and successes come much easier and more often.

I'm not sure if u are into Rumi but I quote him because you are Persian.
“Why are you so enchanted by this world, when a mine of gold lies within you?” – Rumi
Have a good day.

Thank you for your insightful response.

You are welcome......you blog many thought provoking ideas.

I am surprised to see you create posts other than idiom translations even more beautifully. You are really contribution positively for steemit.

Thank you so much.

This your post make remember too when I'm still chil..I'm very poor before but now i have not rich but not to bet..

Good morning.. have missed commenting on your posts for few days now because of bandwidth issues saying I have to build my steem because is very low..yes is good to follow our dreams and don't be distracted with anything.. if you want to make it big in life,follow your dreams. Thanks for this words

wow! nice photography

That is nice definition of sucess.

I think that success should be defined based on the realization of the capabilities and potentials of each individual. The more you realize your capabilities and potentials, the more successful you are.

Lucky me! I am in the same road I used to dreamabout while I was a kid :)

I came on your blog after a few days and I am surprised that you have more power while writing other kind of blog. Very surprised that you have a very good writing skill. about topic a human always see dreams about his future in every step of life even his dreams come true,

yes, i followed my dream. When I was a kid I want to be an engineer and now after 3 months, i will be graduated as an electrical engineer. Honestly i faced many hurdels and failures but i didn't change my goal.
change the plan but never goal

Jaleb bud merc... va inke bale vaghean hichvaght dir nist :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57110.78
ETH 2521.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32