Asking for the Money

While I've trained at Full Sail University in Digital Cinematography, one of the things I've noticed they do not teach is how to ask for money. As it stands, we still live in a world where we need money to live. And as such, working for that money should be in a profession you love. So, when I had the opportunity to use my Veteran's Benefits to upgrade my education I took it.

17123251389_1881fb0ba2_k.jpg

There is a difference between doing what you want to do and doing well. Some people who are doing well, allow themselves to enjoy a job they are not passionate about enough to get that paycheck. And that is fine. But, you might feel a deep yearning to do something else that is truer to who you really are. I learned a long time ago, I am a great story-teller and a good writer. And, when I first worked on the set of a small independent film in Atlanta, I knew I had found what I loved to do.

At the time, I helped out with this short film, I was working as a mortgage broker in Atlanta. Soon after this shoot, I bought a small HD camera and planned a shoot for the Gibson USA: Go for the Gold Slash Model Les Paul Contest. I ended up winning. And Gibson sent me a brand new Slash Model Les Paul. I ended up selling it and moving to Orlando to study at a film crew school. There I learned how to be a grip, a dolly grip, cameraman, prop maker, and electrical grip. Also got to work on some interesting films.

Anthony Grip.jpg

And although, working on these types of film crew positions were great, what I really wanted to do was write and direct. Now I am about to graduate, from Full Sail University with a Bachelor of Science in Digital Cinematography with a lot of footage I've written and directed. And, I recently scored my first client for the type of run-and-gun set up I have, (a Sony FS5, a lighting kit, a MacBook Pro and some mics). I made a presentation on my MacBook for a client. And after the presentation, I asked for the money. And ironically, the site we all hate helped me get paid. The client suggested she pay me through Facebook. And well, I suppose Facebook is still used by so many people, accepting payment with their system is an option I am glad I left open. (granted, I took Facebook off my phone about 6 months ago).

So get out there and do what you love to do. And do not forget to ask for money for doing it.

Quotefancy-1161693-3840x2160.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63071.06
ETH 3121.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84