Quote of the Day!- Childlike determination

in #motivation6 years ago (edited)

image.png


Before the need to be known and respected ever came to my mind, it had been pretty much easy to achieve set out goals; goals that seemed impossible and most times unrealistic and that was because I was a child and children are one determined breed.


Like when I was in Primary school in the 80s, (primary 4 to be exact), my dad promised to give me (N10) Ten naira if I get the First position in my exams, because before that promise I had gotten a T. Shirt my elder sister was asking for by reason of being fourth in class and this was the final exams that will see me to primary five.
I worked hard at my school work and did everything to make sure I got the first position. I even stopped playing during the final days and dreamt of winning.

Bottom line is, although I did not get the first position, my dad gave me the Ten Naira for getting the second position, I actually came out second and unhappy.
As a child I never would understand why I got the Prize, but as an adult now, I can understand why……and that was because I tried. You have to try to do something that way you will be able to decide if it was worth the try or not.


Trying doesn’t make you less of who you are, it adds to you. And even if you failed, you did it going forward.


Looking back on that experience has made me to understand that you can be who you want to be if only you can put up that childhood determination into anything you want to achieve.
That same determination and drive that pretty much made you even believe that you could fly after seeing a Superman Movie and believe that you are Hulk Hogan after 30 minutes in front of the magic box.


The very dangerous people are those that dream like children, those who can boldly tell anyone that “I can fly”, “uncle see me, I am superman”, “I am incredible hulk” and because they believe it so much, for that split minute or as long as it would last, they dream and live in their own world.


We need a determination that is not compromised by fear of the unknown...
I will give anything to be as determined as a child in anything I set out to achieve. I will dream with my eyes open…..and I know it won’t hurt if I lose while trying.


Make the world a better place for someone today!
Join us in creating a truly decentralized offline for all. Support STACH.Stc.JPG

Sort:  

Some parents are so strict, they would cane you for coming aecon

I know right? Well, I guess my dad wanted me to be better and had to teach me by example.

Childhood is usually the most memorable event of growing up. Some things do not just go away after the years. I like that your dad paid even at you taking the second place. At least, it shows you hard work has some reward. Cheers

That was the single most important lesson I learnt growing up and it helped formed my mindset towards trying because I found out that when I try, there will be a prize.

100% agree with you on this, it teaches new work ethics

so true you. he is very blessed to have a father like that.

Very true inspiration words....its better to try and fail than never try at all

In trying, you will know where your strengths lie.

Dreams come true sooner or later but one should open the door when door is knocked at right time.

I agree with you on this.

@keerthi12345 This is considered spam and may earn you some downvote instead of the upvote you solely seek. Peace.

A good one bro. reading through this piece it just dawned on me that you only fail when you refuse to keep trying

Trying is what it is, trying. You will get results whether you try or not.

Hi @ejemai
They are different ways to behave as a childlike
1.Reading of story books and peom

  1. Always eat your daily noodles
  2. Tell your dad and mum you love them
  3. Try a new look
  4. Share your meal with love once
  5. Always wear your favorite color
    @temmy8284

Nice rules

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99