A PROMISE TO MYSELF - A YEAR OF FIRSTS

in #motivation6 years ago

So sometime last month I read @llfarms post My Unexpected Journey - A year of firsts and it inspired me to create my own list . Basically this list is all about learning new things, discovering myself, achieving my goals and just living instead of existing. This past year has been really difficult as a lot of things happened and I battled with depression which also affected my studies. But fortunately Im over it all and now Im going to live well and move forward from it all. So here is my list and hopefully a year from now I would have achieved all this and more

My year of Firsts

  • Write a complete novel

    woodsholemuseum.org.jpg
    Source

This might seem like an easy thing to do but its really not. I haven't finished writing a novel in years due to lack of inspiration , I've been sticking only to short stories and articles. So one of my goals is to start and finish one and who knows maybe submit it to an agent or publisher.

  • Travel to a place I've never been before.

    485698992-612x612.jpg
    Source

I want to see more of the world , even if its just to a different state in my country or to a neighbouring country, as long as its somewhere I've never been before. I want to learn more about the cultures in other places and see how people go about their daily lives there. In the long run I have a goal of visiting at least 30 countries before I die. Do you have such goal?

  • Learn to play a musical instrument.


artiphon2.jpg
Source

I love listening to music. It could be classical music with no lyrics to hip hop to Japanese music where I don't understand what they are saying but can feel the emotions. Been listening to and loving the new album from Florence + the machines. Music has no language to me. So It has always been on my mind to learn at least one musical instrument most likely a guitar or keyboard or violin. So starting now I'm going to work hard to learn one of them hopefully before the end of next year.

Whether with my blog or my writing , I'm going to put myself out there. Im going to take part in competitions, reach out to publishers, go for events , make new friends , learn skills that will build my career. Im going to wade through the waters of life, swimming against the currents and finding new things. This might seem like a normal thing but its not. Every once in a while, self doubt creeps in and stops us from doing the things we want and achieving out goals. Ive started doing this slowly, recently I took part in a writing competition where I emerged one of the 10 winners and won a set of books. Some people might scoff and say I didnt win money so it doesnt count but Im feeling so encouraged and Im working hard on doing more.

  • Start baking professionally


ginbakercake.jpg
Source

So a few years back I learnt how to bake cakes but never really put much effort into gaining more skills in it or using it as a way to earn money. But now Ive decided to get serious with it, so Im going to practice more especially in icing cakes and hopefullly start advertising my skills and just see how it all works out. Baking is so much fun especially when it comes out perfect, so Im hoping I never lose that feeling and I can also spread happiness through what I bake. Sounds silly but a piece of great cake can cheer me up after a bad day and I know it has such effect on others too.

If you have looked through my blog you would see my post about learning Japanese where I talk about the basics and all that. Learning a new language most times is a slow process and I've also been slacking off recently. So I'm hoping to at least learn all the basics and be able to speak fluently and write japanese to a point. I also want to learn my Native language , Bini in order to be more connected to my roots. How many languages can you speak?

So there you have it
I decided to put this out so that in a way I would be held accountable for it , if I wrote it on a piece of paper in my room I might not really commit to it.But now that Ive brought it here for you all to see, it makes me more serious.
What about you
Do you have anything you have wanted to do for a while but just couldn't summon the courage or couldn't commit to it?
I hope this post encourages you to go out there and do it. Write it down and hold yourself accountable and hopefully a year from now we would have achieved most if not all our goals.
Stay blessed

Sort:  

amazing list dear. I hope you are able to achieve them all.

Congratulations @earthangel! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @earthangel! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63470.48
ETH 2544.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72