You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Fake motivation

in #motivation7 years ago

I don't think you sound like the Grinch at all. You sound like a Who. The Grinch is all of the people who are looking for the "fix my life" schemes. Reading a book on happiness... as if you can be taught. Picking up a trendy hobby... as if happiness can be earned. Even the Grinch took what he thought brought happiness to others... and found that it was no good for him. Yet the Who's kept on singing. They... are you. They don't look to outside things to make them happy. They're happy because they have relationships that matter. One of the biggest warning signs for a person struggling with joy is when someone else says "You know what would make you happy?" Inevitably this is followed with what makes THEM happy. What we need, is to find people who are true. Who are interested in us and whom we can be interested in. Some of my best friends do not share my hobbies, do not share my profession, do not even share my philosophies or politics. But we share each other. I am generally interested in what they think, why they think it, and the things that bring them joy. Not because I want to emulate them, but because they, in return, show an interest in me. They listen, and maybe give some thoughts or some insight brought from their own, very different experiences. We need people to encourage and celebrate who we are. And, of course, you have to work, to be disciplined... just as you said. But I don't believe that by sharing the truth you are a Grinch. I think you are leading us all to be Whos... Thanks for your insight and wisdom.

Sort:  

Thank you @drwillwho! It is wonderful how you tied it together with Whos and Grinch.

I agree with you one hundred procent, it is very important to find people who are true and are interested in us, same us in them. It is beautiful that we are not all the same and still have friendships.

I was actually thinking recently how different we both are, also in respect to our expression here on steemit, and how epic that is. It would be dreadfully boring if we had close to identical contents, but that couldn't be further from the truth. ^^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64542.61
ETH 3460.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51