When Should You Start Saving Money

in #motivation6 years ago

We all know that saving money is important.
Questions is when should you start?

Image Source

As I child my mom encouraged me and my other siblings to save money. She bought us a piggy bank made from hard carton from the local market but my older siblings can easily open the lid, and that’s the reason why my piggy bank was not getting heavier even though I’ve been trying to save some coins. I can remember that I cried about it, but as I was writing this now, for some reason it’s making me smile because I remember them giving me some candies every time they got home from school (how nice of them, right? had I known that’s my money!! hahaha).

Then what my mom did was she made an improvised piggy bank made from rectangular aluminum tubing scrap (she worked in aluminum and glass supply that’s why) so that there’s no way that the can open the lid without drilling into it. (Good thing that my mom is cleverer than my older sisters! LOL)
 

  When I was a kid, saving was easy, I just have to drop some extra coins to my improvised piggy bank that I love so much from my allowance and I’m good to go. Now that I’m all grown up, saving is really hard with all of the varied expenses that “adulting” entails. It’s harder when you don’t earn that much, that you can barely pay your bills. Why bother saving right? But you got to start somewhere, it is hard but you have to work at it. It doesn’t matter if you save a little, what’s important is that you start now! As you continue to do it, your financial situation is likely to improve over time. Saving money is worth the effort when it gives you a peace of mind and a better quality of life in the future.   

 

 Peace of mind and a better quality of life is my goal not just for me but most importantly for my kids. As early as now just like what my mom did, I am also encouraging my daughters to start saving money and letting them know the importance of it, I am also involving them with the saving challenges that I am doing.   


I previously wrote an article which I hoped motivated others. I would suggest to check this article When I tried PHP 50 Savings Challengeif you haven’t read it yet. I am also working on another saving challenge that I’m already doing for almost a month now and I will be making an article about it also, hopefully I can finish it by tomorrow. I also plan to write an article about how I encourage my kids on saving money while having fun.

Other amazing writers I personally love:

@ryl
@sarahdandridge
@evlachsblog
@fruthielicious


PLEASE DON'T FORGET TO VOTE FOR WITNESSES!!

@steemgigs (@surpassinggoogle),
I support your work. I like what you're doing and I want you to continue doing it.

I also voted for:


@aggroed, @ausbitbank, @blocktrades, @cloh76.witness, @drakos, @followbtcnews, @good-karma, @mahdiyari, @neoxian, @netuoso and @precise

To cast your votes, click this link: https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Thanks to #steemitschool for the free live classes!!


  Be part of Steemit School! All you got to do is to join our discord channel: https://discordapp.com/invite/FG6ZF8K


My Goal is to reach 500 followers. So if you enjoyed the article and looking forward for more feel free to follow me.
@dangerousangel
Thanks for your time! Tata!!


April 20, 2018
Post #43



Sort:  

Thank you for the tips on saving money and the how-tos. I love your write-up

Big thanks from insta-bus

Thank you so much for taking the time to read my post!

It is never too early to start saving and I love that idea your mom had for you when you were little! I heard a quote by Warren Buffett recently that I really enjoyed and it reminded me of this post. "If you buy things you don't need, soon you will have to sell things you need."

If you are saving money every week or every month and practicing restraint when it comes to buying things you don't need, you will never be in a position when you are stressed about finances!

Great post! :)

Thanks @annemariemay! That's a good quote and I totally agree on that. Sadly though I am sorrounded with those type of people. Others would show off to post something on social media then later would be asking help or borrow money from others.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by dangerousangel from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

At first thanks fro your nice content with your nice photography. Go ahead with your Steemit friend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60514.84
ETH 2575.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56