My Favorite Productivity Hack - Using The 10 Minute Rule To Get Motivated!

in #motivation6 years ago (edited)

9A7E54A5-76CA-432D-BE26-0A7C9367CA89.jpeg

Hello Friends!

I don’t know about you guys, but sometimes I have a hard time getting motivated to do certain things – whether it be getting started on a big project, cleaning my house or working out. I have tried a lot of different “Productivity Hacks” throughout the years, but there is one that I always come back to - The 10 Minute Rule.

In this vlog, I discuss what the 10 minute is and how you can use it. I kept the video fairly short and to the point (under four minutes) because I thought having a long video talking about how to get motivated was a little counterproductive! I pack some helpful tips and ideas into this video and I hope some of you find it helpful.

What is the 10 Minute Rule?

The basis of this “hack” is that sometimes the most difficult thing is getting started. Once we have started the task – it can be a lot easier to keep moving.

Let’s take cleaning my house for example. I literally just set a 10 minute timer on my phone, and tell myself I only have to clean for 10 minutes. Once that timer goes off – I have full permission to stop! Somedays I do stop… but honestly, I usually feel motivated to keep going. I am often surprised at how much I was able to get done in only 10 minutes, and so I set another 10 minute timer to see how much I can do.

I touched on this idea in a post a few months ago, but I wanted to give it more attention because it has honestly been so impactful for me.

You guys know I love getting to chat in the comments – so I’d love to hear your thoughts. Have you ever tried a trick like this before to feel more motivated and productive? If so, what was your experience? If any of you decide to give this a shot… I’d love to hear about it!

Xo, Lea



▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I need to get motivated right now and you're so right, once we start those tasks we're more inclined to finish them!

Awesome!! I’m glad this post hopefully gave you a little push to get started. 😊

I used your rule and now my whole place is cleaner than it ever was, my laundry and dishes are all done, and I finished all my homework. Thank you for this.

That’s SO awesome!! Dang, I can’t believe you got all that done in 10 minutes!

Dig this post, especially coming from someone who procrastinates procrastinating!! Haha

Hahah I’ve been there!!

Using a timer to limit your work time motivates you to concentrate on the task at hand and focus your energy.For example, if i give myself two hours to do an assignment … it is going to take me two hours.On the other hand, if I only give myself 45 minutes, it will put my head down and concentrate. I may feel like I'm rushing, but my increased concentration will surprise me.

Great point!! We tend to fill the space we allot for... your homework example is a perfect illustration of that!

This is like the pomodoro technique. I’ve never tried a ten minute interval though. I heard a similar tip about flossing. Tell yourself you only have to floss one tooth and mean it. Chances are once you floss one tooth, you’ll decide to go ahead and finish your whole mouth.

Oh interesting! I hadn’t heard about the flossing example, but that makes sense! It definitely uses a similar strain of thought. :-)

My “10-minute rule” is pretty straightforward: Every task on your to-do list should take no more than 10 minutes to complete. If it takes longer than 10 minutes, then you should have broken it down into smaller tasks or delegated it to someone else. The key to this rule is in enforcing it, which means setting the timer on your phone to go off at the 10-minute mark. The level of speed and focus that this brings to your day is nothing short of astounding.

Ooh that is a GREAT tip! Thanks for sharing!

Interesting...i use 15 minutes though. It really works timing yourself. You gets things done a lot faster than you imagined. This is what I call tricking your mind and by extension,your body.

Awesome to hear that you are already using a similar “trick” and that it has been helpful for you!

I'm using that for sure. 10 mins work... 10 mins play??

Your 10 minute rule reminds me of my primary teacher who once set the timer for a minute and ask us to write down a number repeatedly for the whole minute,most of us generally written upto one and half page on average.and later he told us you will be able to be more productive if you have a plan already under time limits.

Interesting excercise! It must have been impactful if it stuck with you so long.

Hi @coruscate I missed your posts! As usual, you've got me smiling tonight. Thanks for sharing a nice video. Your smile is always as lovely as the sunrise in the morning :)

Wow, that is so sweet of you!! Thank you for the kind words. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61110.07
ETH 2731.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45