How I achieved the American Dream. In Mexico!

in #motivation8 years ago

I am happy to report that the American Dream is alive and well . Whatever your particular definition of it is doesn't really matter because we all know what it means to ourselves, and that it differs from individual to individual. But in the end, we all want our own slice of the pie. Let me first start by saying that I am a proud, blue-blooded, flag saluting American that loves the United States unconditionally. Sure we have had some rough times lately, punctuated by a treacherous election year, but I believe in my heart that future is bright and that our best years are still ahead of us. I just can't wait that long!

Like everyone I suppose, I wanted my pie now. And truthfully, no matter how hard I worked, I never really saw the light at the end of the tunnel. At times I worked for other people, and for many years, I worked for myself. I owned my own business, drove a decent car, worked 14-hour shifts, and did it 6 to 7 days a week for years. It had to get better because everyone told me that I was doing everything right. Reward would come, just stay on this path, they said. Well, it never really did. Then I woke up one day and I found myself living in Mexico, and enjoying my very own American Dream.

The American dream is not a proprietary concept belonging only to those born in one of the 50 United States of America. The dream exists in every country around the world. Not that they call it the Mexican Dream here, but the end-game. is always the same. A better life for our families, a well paying job, quality time enjoyed with those we love, maybe a new car and so on and so forth. But if I knew that I could have it all and have it in a relatively short period of time, I would have moved here a long time ago.

Everything that I thought I wanted in my life to make it complete, I have finally found here in Cancun, the tropical Caribbean paradise on the tip of the Yucatan Peninsula. I started coming here in 2001, when it was a a prime tourist destinantion for international travelers. At that time, it wasn't what I would call a livable city, due to a lack of infrastructure and an unsophisticated supply of goods and services.. But all that has dramatically changed, having moved full steam ahead after the hurricane that devastated the area in 2005. What we have now is a real city to live, work and play in, and it's everything we have ever wanted and more.


Hotel Zone of Cancun

Foreigners in Cancun, and there are many of us, either own their own business or they work in the tourism industry. I actually do both. I have a great job, selling a vacation program at an adults-only, clothing optional all-inclusive resort in an are called the Riviera Maya. The pay is great, very close to six figures a year and the hours are even better. I am at my office at 8:30 every morning and on my way home at aroud 1pm. And that could be considered a long day. This would probably not happen back home in L.A., and people usually don't believe it when I tell them that it's so. I also operate a rental business, using Airbnb and several other sites, and cater to the many thousands of tourists who come here each year. There is plenty of business to go around.

Here we own our home, a dream that I never actually fulfilled back in L.A.. Not to say we didn?t buy anything, but we still don't actually own the place. We own the debt, and being that we are upside down on the place, we won't own it for many years to come. But here? We live oceanfront on one of the areas most beautiful beaches, and for half of what it would cost to do the same in Santa Monica or Miami. Why do I compare Cancun to those two places? Because the lifestyle and ambiance are very similar, but again, at much more reasonable price. The cost of living can be much lower here as well, and because of the favorable tax struture, I pay less and net more money at the end of the year here than I ever would back in California.

World -class shopping and international dining options are nearby. The movie theaters here are over-the-top, with gourmet food, including sushi and waiter service and within walking distance of our home. The world famous Mayan ruins of Tulum are less than ninety minutes drive from our front door, and and make for a great weekend escape. Plus we jungle adventures and deep sea fishing and coral reef diving are only thirty minutes away. What is not to like. I can even be at Disneyworld, Fla. in about the same amount of time it takes to get to Disneyland from my L.A. area home, what with the traffic and all!

I can't speak enough about my new life here in Mexico. Life is more free and we appreciate things more. The people here are wonderful and welcoming. Even the police shake your hand when they pull you over. If you are looking for a change and trying to get ahead, or want out of the rat race where you are going nowhere, then maybe it's time to start pursuing in another place, maybe even another country! Maybe even in Mexico. Expanding your horizons is all it takes, and then the first move becomes easy.

Yes, the American Dream is alive and well, and it's anywhere that you choose to find it!

Sort:  

Mio, you're making me miss Cancun! It's cold here and may snow on Sunday.
I couldn't agree with you more. Living in Cancun is awesome and I'm thinking of coming back. The US is crazy and everyone works so hard just to stay afloat. Maybe I need a vacation. What do you charge for a room?

Maybe you shoud come down! It would be great to see you again! We can work out the details. You would get a special price

Well written. Thanks.
Do you find it humid there? Santa Monica is pretty nice and not always wet, but Miami is. I've not visited Cancun, and would like to, but the missus doesn't handle the humidity too well.

Thank you very much. Yes, it is humid here in the summer, but right now, and through most of the spring, it is absolutely perfect

Thank you very much!

Спасибо за мечту! Вашу мечту...но от неё мне стало намного теплее в моей заснеженной стране.
Thanks for the dream! Your dream...but it made me feel so much warm in my snowy country.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61110.07
ETH 2731.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45