How to Tame Your Dragon

in #motivation7 years ago (edited)

A dragon is a legendary creature, typically scaled or fire-spewing and with serpentine, reptilian or avian traits, that features in the myths of many cultures around the world.

But the dragon I would like to talk about is far from that legendary fire spewing figure. It is nevertheless an intimidating one as most people are unable to tame theirs.

The dragon is fear.



Source


People have fears for a lot of things, from the ridiculous, like arachibutyrophobia, the fear of having peanut butter sticking on the roof of the mouth, to the real fear, like the fear of death.

Many fear failure so much that they give up trying with inevitably leads to the actualization of their worst fears.

I am not a professional in giving advice, neither have I tamed all my fears.

I admit I have my own fears too, like the fear of making a post that I would never submit on steemit! I do that mainly because I think that it isn't good enough, especially when I feel defeated on seeing other wonderful writers on here.

Every day I try to tame my dragon, I could tell I've succeeded to an extent.

No 1. Do Not Listen To Naysayers



As easy as this sounds, people still fail to put this simple advice to practice.

I believe the people who said it can't be done are correct in their thinking. The people who said it could be done are also correct.

But I have a quote from Puck, a 1903 periodical called “The Public” based in Chicago, Illinois, for those who said it can't be done below.

Things move along so rapidly nowadays that people saying: “It can’t be done,” are always being interrupted by somebody doing it.—Puck.

No 2. Do not compare your ability to that of others



While it is ok to have a role model or someone you look up to inspire you to greatness, you should not necessarily compare the success of Mr. A or Miss. B to that of yourself.

No 3. Do not fear to fail



Like I said before, people who fail the most are those that are afraid to fail. But those who succeed the most are those not afraid of failure or those who learn from it and use it as a motivation to propel to more greatness.

Source
I am not usually an advocate of long write-ups as I have noticed as the day go by people do not have time to read long articles. So I would stop here. Do leave your thoughts and comments below.

Have a wonderful Saturday.

Still your friendly fairy on steemit.
@bitfairy

See ya next post!

Sort:  

Fear is not a good thing...most excuses are great mechanism to apply logic to our fear...we rarely regret the things we did in life when we have followed our passion and taken risks, too often, though we regret the things we don't do due to "FEAR"....

This is spot on. I like the way you think

Wow what a mind blowing out of the trend post... I am afraid of crowd:) you are great genuine writer no need to be afraid of.. Keep it up

Thank you very much. I like that you visit everyday. It encourages one to do more.

Nice write up. We all have one fear or the other and majorly is about fear of failing, fear of not performing up to expectations, and so on but the best way to tame your fear or destroy it is to confront it and not shy away from it.

Confronting the fears works too. You need to be brave to take it on. Thanks for dropping by. It's getting harder to see people who really reads a post these days :)

It was impossible to pass up a chance of reading this. Interesting post with catchy title

Thanks a lot.

Lovely post @bitfairy. As true as this your post is, people still succumb to needless fear, unnecessary comparisons, and listen to all the he-said, she-said, they-said shit.
Good post buddy.

You know how it goes. Bravo

Great photo shoot on a horizon

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63878.79
ETH 3133.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85