You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Being poor is just a mindset, you can become your better version

in #motivation6 years ago (edited)

This is not true for every person who is poor. It is true for a subset of people who are poor.

We're (first world) poor atm and it's not due to choosing not to take on opportunities. I have a home business and it isn't generating a full income yet. I took the opportunity of starting my own business. I feel confident eventually it will do quite well. But atm we're poor (by the standards of our country). I haven't invested but I intend to once we get more money coming in but the fact is we can't yet. "I don't have any money" is not always an excuse - sometimes it is an honest reason. If I chose to invest I'd not be paying rent, eating or paying bills. There's NO spare atm. There are people who won't invest who should, because they think job loss etc won't happen to them so they don't vary their income sources in order to prevent the worst, but that's not the situation in all cases. Sometimes "I don't have the money" literally means "I don't have the money". It's a horrible horrible horrible horrible situation to be stuck in but sometimes it is the truth. Sometimes also the person cannot control what opportunites they have. I took the opportunity to start my own business, and I've taken opportunities to improve skills in some areas and improve other things that may have been holding me back and making me achieve less, but I've also been jobsearching and I can't force an employer to give me the opportunity of a job instead of someone else, and neither can all the other people who are also struggling in the jobsearch just like me. You can't blame poor people for their situation and say it comes from their way of thinking as that likely is true for some, but for many it is not. You can't pass over opportunities you don't have. I'm trying really hard to get out of the situation I'm in and it has involved job searching, working on my business, learning stuff to do with time management and getting stuff done and learning that works for the way my brain works, tertiary study and more and I am not passing over opportunities that come my way and I intend to do stuff like investing once I have enough money to do so (and also buy a house). I've had times I might not have been as productive as I'd like but I'm working on that and I'm learning about myself and how to do things in a way that works for me and there certainly has been an improvement but never was I just being "comfortable" or within my "comfort zone". Being in this situation with money is far from comfortable. I actually try different things, probably a tad too much.

Sort:  

Uhm I understand you @birchmark, you're feeling like no one understands poor but there few words that you have not read from my article

If you have financial constraints and you're working hard to overcome that, let me tell you that you're not poor but temporarily broke because being poor only exist in mind. Both words are synonymous but not same words and nor 100% meaning same things.

Hope now you got what I meant, I know there are people who trying hard but let me ask you why you didn't read that sentence and only focused on those that blame you??
Thank you for passing by and for your sincere comment!

Fair enough. I didn't only focus on the other sentences though. That sentence just doesn't make sense to me as to me it isn't a mindset but a horrible situation. I guess it also confused me because if people aren't held back by financial constraints that would stop them from doing stuff like investing, to me they aren't poor. They might not be rich but to me they're not poor if they have spending or investing money. I guess that's where the confusion really came from as to me the people who can take the sorts of opportunities you mentioned in your article aren't poor. They might be lower or middle class / working class but I wouldn't have called that being poor. It's certainly a better situation than some of us are in. Again I know I'm better off than some in third world countries, so that could be applied to me by someone in that situation, but I still would hesitate to call someone with disposable income to use for investing or spending poor. The statement also was at the very top of your article and I read the whole thing so maybe by the time I was at the end and commenting, that point got a little lost after reading the rest of it. I think I get what you're saying. The confusion arose from our different views of what poor people can afford to do.

Yeah having different opinions that's what makes the world beautiful. Thank you @birchmark

Ironically just before seeing this comment of yours but after writing mine I just got called to go for a job interview. It's even in my home town. Hopefully this is the one.

Woow great for you! I wish success in all! It's time for your hard work to pay you! You're the one

Thank you. Good luck in whatever you're working on or towards atm both on and off of Steemit.

I don't think you're trying a tad too much. I'm sorry you have to struggle and I admire your initiative. It's easy to become bitter when others have more opportunity. You have not allowed that to dampen your spirit. Whatever level of success you do achieve, you deserve respect. What you own doesn't reflect who you are or your worth. Try to remember that. Good luck.

Thanks. Good luck in whatever's going on in your life too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60336.09
ETH 2333.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53