Three Years Ago Today...

in #motivation6 years ago

3 years ago today, I posted on Facebook about wanting to write a book.

For over 3 years I wanted to write a book, but had excuses and lacked follow through.

Last week, I released my first book.

It took less than 45 days from deciding to do it to my first sale.

It was going to be a blog post then a series, then I gave in to the growing length and it became a book.

Two strategies helped me:

  1. I regularly write long form blog posts. By viewing the chapters as blog posts I was able to fit writing into my schedule.

  2. When I got bored with writing, I got the cover handled. Having that cover to see made me finish writing, rewrite, edit, proof... It was my desktop background for 2 weeks before anyone else saw it.

An idea without execution is worthless.

Sort:  

Congrats @ashr. I've always appreciated your input on here and CCT Facebook.

Thanks, I'm no longer in CCT, but I'll still be here and on Twitter :)

Great approach from inspiration to product

Congrats. That is a huge achievement, especially in such a short length of time. I've been the same and always wanted to write a novel as well. I got about half way through one, once when i had a quiet few months but it get pushed to the side then. I know that someday i will go back and finish it but not just right now.

What did you write about?

Thanks, I wrote a book about earning crypto :)

A post about the release is here:
https://steemit.com/crypto/@ashr/too-broke-for-bitcoin-book-launch

Instead of doing it all at once, maybe you could set aside an hour a week or something, any progress is good progress !

Nice, I'll have to look into it. I'm fairly sure I saw something about it a while back too.

I've put mine on hold for the moment as I have other projects to do first but when I get back to it and I will eventually, that's not a bad plan. Ever bit of progress helps to move it on.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63248.94
ETH 2576.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85