Why did I stop posting on Steemit (and why you should not)

in #motivation6 years ago

If you have just got approved on Steemit and you are making your first steps on the platform, you have probably already read encouraging posts written for newbies by more experienced Steemians. And this is absolutely the right thing to do because you can find there a lot of useful tips about how to progress, to make good content and to build up your reputation.

Here is by the way a great post by @anritco which inspired me to restart my Steemit activity after I’ve left the platform about 6 months ago. Whoever you are, a new Steemian who doesn't know where to start or someone like me who comes back after a long break, read it, it will boost you up for sure.

A bad example not to follow

I am sharing with you my experience, it might be useful as a bad example not to follow. In my country we say: intelligent people learn by other people’s mistake, silly people learn by their own’s.

Why did I stop posting on Steemit?

I signed up in June 2017 and I immediately fell in love with the concept of the platform. Everything was going great, some of my posts got good rewards, every day I learnt something new and met new people. But after one month of activity I stopped posting. Without any particular reason. It was not like I woke up one day and I made a decision to never come back on the platform again. I just had one busy day, then another one, then a week passed by...

I should say that after a quite lazy summer when I could spend a day working on one post, I had a very busy and challenging autumn. I moved to another country and I had to deal with a lot things. To make a long story short, last week I suddenly realized how much I missed Steemit and was surprised myself that I hadn’t written a word on the platform for the last 6 months.

Did I think before now about restarting? Of course! But writing is like sport: when you practice it every day it is easy and fun, but when you start missing workouts, it’s getting difficult to find time and motivation. And more you miss, more it is difficult. You always find another thing to do and a reason why you can do it tomorrow.

Why you should keep going even if you are in short of the inspiration?

Because it is better to do a little than doing nothing. One comment, one reply or 1 upvote per day will be better than 0 activity for months, waiting for the perfect time to restart or the perfect subject to write about. If you keep going, even with baby steps, it will be much easier to write your next post when comes the right time and the right mood.

The thing is to always find time for activities which make us happy. If you love coffee, you will not miss a day without your cappuccino, right?


Source 1,2,3

You came on Steemit because writing, sharing and discovering make you happy. So if you have started, don’t stop, even if the inspiration is not always on its top.

Another post about the inspiration (why you don't have to wait for it) is coming soon, so don't go away. 😉

THANK YOU FOR READING THIS POST 💙
FOLLOW ME

Sort:  

Welcome back!

I'm someone who has started since you've been away. Haven't quite hit that month mark yet, so we'll see if it proves to be a wall or not.

It's encouraging to know that there are people who do come back after months of inactivity. The number of accounts without much activity during the week is pretty large. I wonder how many of those are like you and not just a duplicate account or bots or spammers? It would be great to have all the "real people" take another look.

I wish you well. Thanks for sharing.

Great advice! I try to post at least once every day

hey @drewley, this is also what I am trying to do after coming back.

Welcome back to Steemit @anikanam! Looking forward to your next inspiring post. It's true that even one upvote is better than nothing, but I have a dilemma about this. Sometimes I think it's better to post less, after working on a good content and post something you are really proud of. Then, I think to myself I can't exactly know what people will like, what is going to get attention and people will find value in. Cuz sometimes posts that I work on for almost all day gets not attention at all. So, it might be better to post more often, like everyday or one in 2days? I don't know! I can't make a desicion about this. What do you think about it?

Thank you @birdlover, I totally understand what you are talking about, I think we all here have the same questions and doubts. What to write about, how to get attention to posts we work hard on. It also happened to me to write a big post about a topic I am really into and to get almost 0 attention. It is always disappointing. To avoid this thing I try to imagine who can be interested in the content and to choose the time for posting, according to my followers' timezones. For example, if the post might be interesting for people living in Europe, imagine what time european people might be the most present on Steemit. Or if you post a content on different language, before posting look what time it is in the country of this language. It doesn't work for all posts, because we often create content which is not specifically designated for one country or for one continent. As for the frequency of posting, just like you I don't have the right answer. I read about 4 posts per day but I just don't have enough time to create a high quality content for 4 posts per day:) It will probably come with more experience. Here we are back to the idea that we have to keep going, to get this experience and to write more, better and faster. I am sure, we are on the right way. Thanks again for your feedback, it is very precious. Keep in touch😉

Wow such a long and inclusive answer! Thank you for taking your time! I think the best answer is to give people what would you want to see and be interested, and never give up as you said. It can be really frustrating not to get rewards for hard work. Sorry to hear that. I guess all steemians go through this phase. However, I believe our followers will increase each day, we will have new comers who appreciate the hard work and engaging style like you created in this post. It's the best thing I love about steemit. You can feel so close to people you don't know, and share your ideas honestly, sincerely. Thank you for your advice as well, I make sure to check the time in USA which most of the steemians are from. It's quite different from Turkey's timezone and I mostly write my posts after 2 am! But it's good I was already a night owl :) Yes, let's keep in touch @anikanam! I appreciate your detailed and sincere answer, hope to talk to you soon :)

So true! Thank you for this! It's a bit like buying a gym membership and not going haha There's never a really good excuse for it, but geez we can sure come up with a million of them anyway;) And you are absolutely right when you say to do anything ( "One comment, one reply or 1 upvote per day will be better than 0 activity for months"); at least then, it keeps your foot in the door, so to speak. I read once that you need to do something for a couple of months before it actually gets ingrained as a 'habit' in our brains. I'm one month in here on steemit (love it btw), so I'll have to remember your words if/when I feel myself slipping! Cheers!

Thank you very much for your support @lynncoyle1. When I was writing this post I was doubting about posting it or not. Like, who am I to write about not giving up after I have disapeared for 6 months:) But comments like yours show that we are all experiencing the same challenges here, even if we 100% love it here. So, let's "keep our feet in the door", as you say. 😊 Keep posting, you are doing great! 👍

Thank you so much! Right back atcha:) I can keep you going when the going gets tough and vice versa:)

Great idea. Let's keep an eye on each other, to not let each other slip:)

Thank you for sharing your wisdom. I have been on here for a little over a month and thought about slowing down. You have inspired me to keep going. I look forward to reading more from your encouraging and inspiring blog. Thanks again.

I am glad my post inspires you to keep going, you have been here just for a month and you are doing great. I think it is normal to have ups and downs. The thing is not to stay down for too long:)

hey hey hey my dear friend,, Now im following you + upvoted & comments also... so plzz give me a feedback plzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

The best time to plant a tree was 20 years ago. The second best time is now.” – Chinese Proverb

I think we all are investing our time and efforts on Steemit and it's really worth it. We are getting better as writer, blogger, investor and human being.

I read a lot of blog post which are really informative. I learn about cryptocurrencies and life lessons.

I found your article really inspiring and it has a message it's never too late to start or restart.

I am looking forward to your next post. May I now what would be your next blog post @anikanam?

Great post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13