Neuroplasticity: Quite Literally A Case Of Mind Over Matter – A Quest For Magick #7

Fellow Steemians,

“You would not believe your eyes, if ten million fireflies, lit up the world as I fell asleep”, but I promise you I wasn’t sleeping, for what I’m about to tell you.

“Ready? Okay!”

You all know that I’ve been experimenting with neuroplasticity, right? Well, Jay (my boyfriend) went out to take his mum to an appointment, and then help her unpack a few more boxes. That was around 9:30AM this morning. I cancelled my lunch call because I wanted to sleep. I woke up when Jay messaged me on Facebook, saying that our weekend plans had changed, which was at 11:30AM.

Let’s say, about an hour after that, my phone fell out of its mount. And I was like “Oh no!”, because I had cancelled my 2PM call. I tried putting my phone back in its mount several times, but I kinda need two working hands for that. “What do I do? Hmm... What if I try balancing my phone on my left bicep?”

PhoneOnArm.jpg

That worked! It took an incredible amount of effort and concentration, but it worked! Then, around 1:15PM, one of my attendants came by to surprise me with her new puppy. I asked her to place my cell back into its contraption, however that didn’t last very long before it fell out again! That was at 2:19PM.

So, like before, I picked my phone up and had it resume its previous balancing act until Jay got home around 3PM. I was so excited that I had him take a picture of it. I thought to myself “Hey, if I can do this, what about if I try to feed myself mini pizzas”, and guess what? I did!

It too, took a ton of mind power, but I managed to get every single piece into my mouth, without dropping any, except the very last one. I was like “C’mon! Really?!”

EatingWithFork.jpg

So, you see, gentle Steemians, how this is quite literally a case of mind over matter! It begs the question, if I can do those things given my disability and “hole-y” brain, what else can I do? Furthermore, what can you do if the desire is there? “I’ve heard it said that people come into our lives for a reason…” Okay, okay, no, I won’t break out into song again. But seriously, I’ve heard it said we’re only limited by our own imaginations.

‘Til next time!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61814.34
ETH 2979.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48