Steemit Issues: My Tags/Topics Have Gone Amiss, Lost In The Steemit Abyss, Here's Why I'm Reposting This

Hi Steemers,

I don't do reposts, but on this occasion I feel that I should.

I have been wrangling with whether or not to do so for the past 3 weeks as reposting I assume can be a pretty touchy subject.

The Reason For The Repost

enter image description here

I created a short motion graphics animation for Steemit on my second post which you can see here. I posted it under the hashtag "motion" as the primary and a few other hashtags like #motiongraphics, #creativesgettingpaid and a couple of others that never ended up showing up either.

There's Nothing Under "motion".

enter image description here

Have a sneaky suspicion that it might never have been created when I posted the article as I didn't check. There is also the possibility that it did exist and then after a server update or something like that it got deleted.

I know I posted everything correctly so a bit stumped as to what went wrong with the tags. If you search for motion, nothing comes up.

enter image description here

Invested 4 days on the animation and spent about 350 GBP (450 USD) on plugins, render farm outsourcing and licensing the music track from Audio Networks.

I'm not whining or anything....at least I hope I don't come across like I am, but it's a bit of a downer to have invested the time / money (for a wonderful cause) and know that if anyone searches the topic / tag that I posted it in, nothing comes up. As possibly the first professional creative on Steemit, would have been nice to start the category.

Don't get me wrong, people did see the post and up-voted / commented and I generated a few Steem dollars and am super stoked about that, but definitely exposure wise, I got the short straw.

The original idea for me here is that I want to see the feasibility of slowly migrating my professional animations portfolio to Steemit as well as be a contributing blogger on a range of topics. I'm also trying to spread the word among other animators and creatives in my field to check Steemit out and contribute some awesome original content.

It's a bit of a worry when smaller tags that could grow and become popular are possibly lost for whatever reasons and only the strong or trending ones stay like steemit, indroduceyourself and similar.

Motion graphics / VFX is a pretty cool industry and can really bring tons of engaging and creative content Steems way but stability of the Tags and Topics section needs to be addressed.

Would love to know if this has happened to anyone else or is it just me.

Feel free to comment :) !

Beers and cheers!

CC

Driven by Steem.

Sort:  

Right now the #motion trending is empty since no one in the last 24 hours is using that tag. If you look you can find it here: https://steemit.com/trending30/motion This is the 30 day trending page. After the 24 hour payout posts are moved from there to 30 day trending page. After 30 days they may still show under "popular" or "responses" if there is enough activity I think.

I understand the concern about the popularity of tags. I do think that some posts are getting lost in the mix when the popularity of a tag wanes or if the tag isn't popular in the first place. I'm hoping as the platform develops there will be a better solution to this problem.

Hi Patrice!
Thanks for that! Was proper worried about not being able to find it.
I still think that if you search tags and topics it should show up then as there is no point using the search option if it won't show you a tag that has been used before etc.

Hope this helps.
If you're a user that creates some type of visual arts, you're invited to share it on "Steemit Visual Arts"
https://steemit.com/art/@justoneartist/facebook-group-steemit-visual-arts

You don't sound like you are whining, far from it in fact, you had me laughing. Especially with the memes used.
Hope that a motion tag is created now, it might encourage other creatives to put up work like yours. I think Steemit could really do with more creative videos and articles, getting a touch weary with all the talk of money... but that's just my opinion :) x

Agreed about the general postings on Steemit that seem to generate a ton of money but on topics that are being over used like anything steemit, tech jargon Bitcoin stuff and similar. Makes it difficult to generate interest in other topics.
Thanks for the support Natnot xx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63834.78
ETH 2627.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78