The MothMan

in #mothman6 years ago

images.jpg

Some would say that the moth man is the devil in disguise, coming to collect the souls of hundreds of people whom have sinned in there life or maybe sold there soul to the devil and he is now ready to collect.
Other's out there would say that he is a saint, going around small villages warning people of certain doom, soon to come within days.

I remember this story like it was only yesterday, I was only 18 at the time and it would have been about 10 years ago, but with my story, I will never forget what happened that day.

My village would be a small village, just over two thousand people in town, We don't even have a water treatment plant, just a several large water towers doted around the town, Our power station is a old and out of date coal power station. That place pumps out gas like a steam train.
My village was surrounded by a forest on all walls, no matter where you looked there was trees as for as I could see. I must admit, it was great thinking that our village was like a mystical town that you would have to find in the middle of a maze.

Anyway, Now you have an idea of how big my village is and a view of what it looked like, I remember this story like it was only yesterday. It has been 10 long years since the incident had happened but who could ever forget this.

I was 17 years of age and just finished my school finals, there was this thing that when we finish finals, the school would gather up in the woods and celebrate the end of school and a new start to being college kids. Time away from our parent so we could do what we wanted with out them to remind us how wrong we are.

That night I waited for my friends to come and pick me up, there was a sharp chill in the air that night but I didn't care, We was free after all from school. I was snapped back to reality as I was day dreaming about my future. I smiled as I saw my friends stop at my driveway. “are you ready” one said, “ I am, let's go” I reply with excitement.

We set off for a 5 mile drive, the distance was so for several reason, So the police wouldn't know where we are and So we could keep an eye out in case they did drive in the direction of the party. We would need someone to keep watch and warn us. No one wants to be busted by the police for a underage party those days.
We was about 3 miles into our journey when all of a sudden, we herd what seemed to be like flapping, we all looked at each other being nervous but shrugged it, There is no bird out there that big to make that kind off sound.

A few more feet down the road we herd it again, again we all got very nervous at the sound as it got louder and louder. We all looked around to see if we could see what was making this noise but there was nothing around.

The driver of the car went white as a ghost, “ are you alright, you looked like a ghost” the passenger next to him said. He pointed forward looking into the distance. Looking up, I could not believe my eyes, there right in front of me was a pair of red glowing eyes in the pitch of black, looking at it you could see where the sound was coming from. It must have had a wring spang off at least 6 feet, it looked like a human with wrings.

The driver started to speed up trying to loose this thing but it was no use, it kept up with the pace of the car. The speedo hit 100 as this thing was still on the side flying parallel to us. Then as sudden as it was there, it was gone.

The driver kept on speeding down the road, we all tried to calm the driver down as we didn't want to die from the high speed. After a few mins we managed to calm the driver down. After we pulled to the side so we could get out for a breath of air and to try and relax each other.

While outside the car, we was still wary about this curious creature, we didn't know what it was or where it came from, but one thing for sure, we all seen it and it wasn't a day dream or hallucination.

We all agreed that night to skip the party and go home, We was all shook up and wasn't in the mood to party anymore. The driver turned the car around and headed home. One by one we got dropped off.

Now back at home, My parents could see there was something wrong but how could I tell them. They would think I was on drugs if I did. I decided to puck up and told them off my night and what I had seen.

I was shocked at there response they gave me, They sat me down and started to explain that, 20 years ago. A mysterious figure shown up in town. He would always show up at night, never during the day and always on the same road I was on that night. What made things worse for me, was the fact that they told me this figure had turned up a few days before a disaster had happened in town. It seems that the local mine we had back then, had collapsed and trapped 20 miners.

He stayed there for 7 days and 7 nights as rescuers worked very hard to dig out the workers that night. That is why there would be a statue of this creature in the town centre. They said that this creature looked after the souls of the trapped miners while rescuers dug the miners out.

With that story in mind, I was super shocked when I herd over the news that the bridge, which was the main entrance into and out of town had collapsed and several people was seriously injured. That night photo's off the bridge went around the internet. When looking at one of the photo's, right there on top of one of the collapsed supports was a picture of this creature.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61757.84
ETH 2985.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48