Growing Up With She-Hulk For a Mom

in #mothersday7 years ago (edited)

"You don't want to see her angry"

Now, my mom was not a body-builder...

The She-Hulk analogy was not meant to be literal...

On the other hand, when we're talking about pure strength, I cannot think of a body-builder that could even know the strength of my mother...

I will give an example:

When I was 9 years old, she was diagnosed with breast cancer...this was not the first time I saw her have cancer as a child...

She worked constantly, and being an executive at then Indiana Bell, she was not just kicking ass and taking names, she was helping people build infrastructure...

The high stress environment seemed to have immediate consequences, as after having multiple cysts, she ended up developing full on breast cancer...

Now, when this happened, I am sure she broke down, but I never saw it...

The doctors gave her 6 years to live ( I believe), but she made up her mind that was not going to be her final diagnosis...

I remember very vividly her value system changed, and family time went before everything...

I distinctly remember as a child being surrounded by people telling me that "god was going to fix it", but I saw her fighting...I was angry at god for giving her cancer in the first place...it was so strange to be a small child and so angry at what people were saying is the "creator of the universe" at the prospect of having my mother taken away...

I was ready to fight god...but I didn't have to...

My mom fought cancer, and beat the entire living shit out of it...

I watched her...it was more amazing than any comic book panel ever could be, because it was real...

She was given odds to a scenario in which the wrong moves would end with her literally losing her life...

And through sheer will power and determination, she won...

After she beat cancer, she dedicated her life to empowering youth and disenfranchised populations...

Her and my father would take my sister and I down to Wheeler Mission, and they would go to prisons speaking to populations that everyone else gave up on...

25 years after the doctors gave her 6 years to live, she is still out there kicking ass and taking names...and empowering those that need a little help...

My mom is the Savage She-Hulk with a heart warming smile

Sort:  

Wow! This is a fantastic Mother's Day story! Incredibly inspiring. Your mom is a real superhero!

I am so happy I read this.

Great job!
Upvoted&Followed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 61940.19
ETH 2433.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50