Natural Ways To Boost Your Milk Supply: Pumping

in #motherhood6 years ago (edited)

milk supply - PUMPING.png

Pumping really helped me build up my milk supply when I was breastfeeding. Both my babies needed more milk in the early stages and I just couldn't keep up with the demand. My midwife suggested I get a pump to build supply and to give my severely damaged nipples a rest.

So I started to pump and then feed my son my milk in a bottle and would alternate between boob and bottle. At the beginning I was so disheartened to see just how little milk I was producing. It took quite some time for it to build up, but slowly I started to get more and more milk. I then weaned him off the bottle and was 100% boob feeding!

I hadn't heard of power pumping then. Power pumping mimics cluster feeding and sends a signal to the body to produce more milk. With my 2nd child I had similar feeding issues. I discovered power pumping while I was searching for solutions one night. I started to power pump once a day in the evening when my baby was sleeping. After just one day I saw a big difference in how much more milk I was producing. Over 3 days I had double! Some women try this pumping regime twice a day, once in the morning and once at night, but for me once a day was enough.

Below is the routine for double and single pump use:

POWER PUMPING.png

I also found pumping really useful when I got mastitis. My baby wasn't fully draining my breasts in the early weeks due to her tongue-tie. By pumping after each feed I would clear any blockages and allow my breasts to completely fill again.

My babies really benefited from my good friend the breast pump! I recommend you try the power pump if you have any supply issues. Let me know how you get on, I would love to hear from you.

BIG love,

Star xx

Steemit logo.jpg

tribe-steemup-member-banner.jpg

steemitmastermindgroupbanner.png

steemitmamas.png

Sort:  

Power pump momma!!

👊🏻👊🏻👊🏻

This is awesome @startreat! I have never heard of power pumping to help produce more milk supply. I have never been successful with using a pump, I always have to hand express. The thing that has worked for me to make more milk is Fennel essential oil. It helps stimulate the milk flow and keeps a steady amount coming in.

Oh my goodness that darn mastitis, I’ve it has at least once with all 3 of my sons...OUCH! Thanks for sharing this information with us!

@startreat I will definitely try out the power pumping.My baby feeds on demand but my supply has been very low so i have to supplement with formula. I also started taking lactatiin cookies recently and the results havent been all that impressive.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60172.85
ETH 2384.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57