Ladybugs and Random cakes - Birthday madness!

in #motherhood8 years ago (edited)

Birthdays are like Christmas in our house. We go big every time. Balloons, steamers, cake and lots of family and friends to share the day.

I love baking and it’s tradition that I bake cakes for my brother, Andries and my daughters every year on their birthdays (and my husband if he’s lucky). Apart from the cake I baked for Andries’ 12th birthday where the theme was ‘Random’ - I’ve pretty much gotten away with a good cake and ‘nice enough’ decorating.


Random cake for a Random party

When your daughter turns 6 and asks for a Ladybug cake, you either pay through your nose or you learn, and you learn quickly. Because she now knows you can Google stuff. So she made me Google Ladybug cakes and chose the one she liked. Lucky for me it was a fairly easy bug to make and I have a best friend who has all the tools I needed to make my daughter’s dream bug.


Image credit - Sample pic of the cake

I baked a vanilla butter cake for the base and used a marshmallow and rice crispy mix in a mould for the bug. The flowers and smaller ladybugs are all fondant. I used buttercream icing on the cake.


The end result - Look at that face!

I had so much fun baking and decorating the ladybug cake. It was a big hit at the party and of course we had cake BEFORE food. I loved the theme as well. There's so much you can do decorating and food wise with the red, black and white.


The girls helped me make the small ladybugs and flowers.


No cake is complete without bling!

Please comment and tell me how crazy you get around birthdays?


If you enjoy my articles please follow me on my blog at @naomi.louise

Sort:  

@naomi.louise You have a wonderful talent to make such beautiful cakes.

Thank you very much for the compliment @frieda. My mother taught me ;-)

@naomi.louise I love ladybugs. You must have had a beautiful wedding cake....

I had the ugliest wedding cake in the history of forever and a day @giantbear.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63295.30
ETH 3053.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70