Musings From A Tired Mama

in #motherhood7 years ago

Another Mama Musings post here for you...

IMG_1176.JPG

I like the word "musings". I feel like it suits a lot of my days as a mother... days spent in solitude in a way, reflecting on both big & small things. Especially in the calm of winter here. Of course I have two tiny humans I'm dressing, feeding, comforting, hugging, changing, bathing... you get the picture. But there's something about being a mama to these little people that give me a sense of solitude, which gives me time for reflection... musing.

Sometimes I go days without going outside (when it's just a really cold week) & the only other adult I'll have face to face interaction with will be my husband when he gets home in the evening. Being married to a carpenter means, he's gone to work when it's still dark out & home when it's dark out. The saying is true, the days are long, but the years are short.

Sometimes, I really enjoy the solitude. Sometimes, it makes me a bit batty. Depends on the day or week. But overall, I enjoy the amount of time motherhood gives me to just muse over things & reflect on life, God, relationships, etc. BUT today, my toddler got another fever & is coughing more. My 6 month old wants to only be held by me or at the very least, have me at a maximum of 5 feet away. I was up every 2 hours last night & didn't get a coffee in my body until about 1:00pm, AFTER grocery shopping. (The insanity!! Why do I do this to myself??)

Mostly, today I was thinking about all the stuff that isn't done yet today. All the dishes on the counter. All the food I need to prep & cook. The floor that needs to be swept for the 5th time. I was thinking about my to do list & how it got pushed back another day. I found myself constantly just thinking about the fact that I'm tired & how I just want to go pee alone one dang time in my life. Is that too much to ask?! ;)
But, I'm pausing now that the hubby is home & I can write out my thoughts.
From a tired mama to you:

I'm tired, but I got extra cuddles with my babies this morning.
My toddler has a fever, but thankfully we have tylenol & netflix.
I didn't get my coffee till late today, but I finally did get a nice afternoon lukewarm coffee. (Hot coffee just doesn't happen anymore really).
It was chilly outside today, but honestly sort of felt like a spring day & for that I'm thankful.
My babies just wanted ME to hold them & no one else. I've been blessed with arms full of life & babes on my hips. What more can/should I ask for??
My husband came home & helped with the kids right away.
Although we still have another couple of months of winter, today gave me hope in a way, that spring is just around the corner. One of my favourite seasons.

IMG_7675.JPG
(Collection of pinecones for me from my toddler)

I just need to be patient.
Love on my family.
And have another coffee.

xo

  • Liz Lemon
Sort:  

Congratulations on being a pretty nice presentation

Thank you very much! :)

Thank you for this beautifully written and timely (for me) piece. It's good to remember that a lot of other mommas feel the same way I do sometimes.

Aw, I'm so glad you liked it. It's such a good reminder for me as well. It's good to hear that we aren't alone in this! Do you have littles too? I find these years can be so tough!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 61651.16
ETH 2369.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50