Working out Post-Partum

in #motherhood7 years ago

I love to work out.  I truly believe that a healthy and strong body keeps your mind strong as well.  I worked out throughout my pregnancy with Avery, my first child and I am currently working out while pregnant with my second child. 

I took a break from working out after giving birth.  There were so many new things going on that needed my full attention to adjust to them.  I tried to work out at home, but the truth is: I was just too tired.  I prioritized sleep and food over my muscles.  I did not have any help with my newborn, so it was more important to be there for my child and put his well-being ahead of mine.  I knew it was just temporary.

I got back into working out at around 3 months post-partum when I felt comfortable enough to leave Avery at the gym child care center.  My body was strong before I gave birth, but 3 months later, I noticed how much weaker I had become!  I actually felt overwhelmed and clueless for the first time. So I started off with a personal trainer who worked with me on putting together exercises using mostly just my bodyweight.  The goal was to strengthen my core and regain balance.  I did leg lifts, romanian deadlifts, bench squats, easy single arm rows and push ups.  I couldn't believe that I was  not able to squat without losing my balance!

Shortly after 2 weeks, I noticed that I was getting stronger and confident enough to slowly resume to my workout routine prior to and during pregnancy -  I worked on different body parts instead of a full body workout:  1) Chest/Triceps/Abs, 2) Delts/Back/Biceps/Shoulders and 3) Legs.  

Left:  3 months post-partum when I just started working out again / Right:  12 months post-partum

Whenever I did not make it to the gym I would work out at the tiny gym at my condo complex to keep up with my routine.


Putting in all the work and discipline, I will say that my body was lean and strong again, but my skin was not as firm as I’d liked it to be.  I’m not upset about it because I love that our bodies have gone through such a big change.  Now, being pregnant with my second child, I have been more disciplined and focused and my workouts have more variety.  I'm curious to find out how different my body will be after giving birth.  I'll definitely write a post about it.

With that, please note that I have been cleared by my doctor for weightlifting during and after pregnancy.  Please consult with your doctor and work with a Trainer to ensure that you won't injure yourself.

xTanya

All photos are property of Tanya Sway (@averyandme).  Follow me @averyandme for more posts on fitness, pregnancy, motherhood and parenting.  You will also find a similar post on my blog www.averyandme.com


Sort:  

Congratulations @averyandme! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60782.57
ETH 2381.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64