More fun in the Philippines

in #morefuninthephilippines7 years ago (edited)

The long journey from LA to Philippines was pretty serious business with kids in tow. Thankful for benadryl given by my friend Isy in LA. Although I must say my children are pretty good travelers, sleeping is always ideal when you know a lot of energy is going to be spent after the long flight.

Philippines is where I was born and raised. This was the first time my kids traveled to my homeland. I wanted them to be just the right age so they could remember the whole experience.

The town I grew up in. Amazingly colourful.

It was nice to wake up to this.

Breakfast! Not a fan of this fish to be honest!

My favourite filipino pork sausages. They are from Pangasinan. They’re garlicky good.

Sorbetes aka dirty ice cream in a burger bun. Maybe odd but there is nothing quite like it. This is literally an ice cream sandwich. With amazing flavours like cheese, avocado, and mango, one would wonder why these are not more common in the west.

City birds.

Sisig. Ahhhh... loads to say about this dish. Even Anthony Bourdaine raves about it. Chopped up pork cheek, tongue, ear, etc mixed with garlic, ginger, chiles, and other spices, this dish is truly a delicacy.

Kangkong or water spinach is a favourite side dish.

My parents favourite fruit, the dragon fruit.

Condo living in Manila.
A college friend invited us to her place. Superb swimming pool.

This is the view from the back of the biggest mall in the Philippines: The Mall of Asia.

After awhile, the city got a bit too hectic and we decided it was time to “disconnect”
Philippines has so much to offer. Hundred Islands located in Pangasinan is so beautiful.

We rented one of those boats. Such a fun ride island hopping.

Bridge connecting one island to the next.

The goat my kids absolutely adored

Their first tricycle ride

Sunsets are beautiful. It doesn’t matter which part of the world you are in.

Sort:  

Natakam ako sa paksiw at sa kangkong! Yummy! Nakakatuwa na nadalaw na ng iyong mga anak ang Pinas. I hope they have fond memories to remember about our country when you go back to LA. Love your pictures lalo ba ng Pangasinan trip nyo. Maganda pala talaga dun.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58981.78
ETH 2669.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44