Going Beyond Respect.

in #morals7 years ago (edited)

I used to make jest of my little niece whenever I go to visit them and she tells her cousin, "I am not your mate, you had better respect me!" Whenever she makes that statement I laugh so hard.

I usually tell her that in as much as we want others to respect us, we in turn should learn to respect ourselves.

You do not have to always remind someone to constantly respect you, people want to see why you want to be respected.
RESPECT.jpg

A friend of mine usually say that respecting her elder brother is a big deal because he does not respect himself. Her brother also always want people to respect him but somehow people keep disrespecting him and this alone gets him upset and sometimes he goes physical about it.

Respect is a positive feeling or action shown towards someone or something considered important, or held in high esteem or regard; it conveys a sense of admiration for good or valuable qualities; and it is also the process of honouring someone by exhibiting care, concern, or consideration for their needs or feelings.

Growing up, our culture and tradition taught that it is norm that the young must always greet their elders when they wake and when they come across each other. In fact anyone who does not keep up to this norm is considered to be rude, disrespectful, and morally deficient.
bowing.jpg
Source: Children greeting their mother as a sign of respect

The young must kneel or bow to do this depending on your gender as a female or male respectively. For a child who is considered disrespectful, the parents mother is to be blamed in most cases, if not in all.

Despite that fact, respect still has a lot more to offer and I feel that people do not completely understand that.

Respect is not only about greetings, bowing, kneeling and all of that. Respect has to do with accepting oneself first then accepting others (one cannot accept others if he has not accepted himself).
self-respect-status-and-short-self-respect-quotes.jpg

It is showing other people that their opinions matter even when it does not go in line with our own ideas and believe. Respect is reciprocal they say, this means that the amount of regard you give to people is the same you shall get.

It is not about age.

Some people believe that it is only the elderly that is deserving of our respect, but I take objection to this and I say it’s not true.

However, some adults feel belittled especially when young ones correct them. Even when this is done nicely with caution, some elderly will still feel offended at the mere fact that a child who is nothing corrected them.

This is simply allowing our ego cloud our sence of judgement. When we accept the opinions and ideas of people irrespective of their age we are morally standard. As a matter I fact, age does not mean anyone knows it all

Einstein002.JPG

Respect has nothing to do with age just the way people denotes, it has to do with the following:

  • Admiring and regarding other people's belief and opinion even though they might be different from ours but we still honour that about them.
  • Caring about other people's feelings and what they might be going through, not calling people names or behaving badly towards them
  • Minding how we speak to people and not hurting them because we are in a bad moods.
  • It is the control we have over our emotions and apologizing when we lose them.
  • Standing up for other People and their rights is part of respect.
  • Acting positively about ourselves and/or others.

Respect and affluence

Some people also make the mistake of mistaking respect and affluence, 0they feel that their respect should be only for the people they consider as rich or influential.

This is totally wrong and does not speak well of us when we do this. No matter the social class or financial status of others, young or old; they still deserve our respect.

Looking down on people is not good at all, rating people based on their outward appearance and judging them based on our own standard before showing respect is totally wrong and is not a good thing to do.

I can't respect them they are bad people

Yes, well I will not deny the fact that sometimes there are people who naturally are not deserving of our respect due to their ways of life and all of.

But I tell you that even at that, do not question any respect that should be given to people.

I hope I am not going to burst your bubbles if I tell you that through the respect we have for others who are not deserving of them they might change and become good people again. You never can know what good you have done by simply sticking to that which is right.
image.png
source

Conclusion

I would like to remind us that respect is reciprocal, it is the amount of regard you have for others that you will have in turn.

Speaking kindly, caring, loving and understanding other people is a form of great respect for others, it is going beyond what people think about showing respect.

Our level of respect determines how morally inclined we are. Stay respectful!

respect-is-not-imposed-nor-begged-its-earned-and-offered.jpg

Thank you for reading

References :

1

Image credit: GOOGLE.

Sort:  

I am impressed as well as reminded of your post. I have had so much in my life that I tend to lose the word 'RESPECT' to people who gave me so much pain. And, because it's difficult for me to forgive them and so my respect for them was gone. But everything on your post reminded me now that I should forget and respect them so that they will respect me back. Thank you so much for that wonderful post. <3

I am so glad my friend that this post has been able to clear every doubt about respecting those who hurt you. One trick I would want to teach you which was inculcated on me by my mum is to kill people who have hurt you with love and respect is the true definition of that.

When people treat you badly they expect that you would retaliate by disrespecting them, but never give them the chance to predict your next move. Treat them even more nicely than before and by doing that you would forget the hurt and they will be the ones to be faced with shame.

I love your strength and the decision you have made today. Thank you.

I truly appreciate your words. Thanks a lot :-)

Very interesting article and I can totally relate. I am from the Philippines and we are taught at an early age to respect our elders. From the usual mano po to our honorifics, respect is something that is ingrained to us.

I do agree with you as well that respect goes beyond age and social status. For me, we all should learn to respect others - even those who we think do not deserve it.

You said amazingly wonderful. You were taught right. Respect is a very good thing to teach a child and when he grows up he will not depart from it. Thank you very much.

Much of the essence of human interaction is considered in your writing today.

Ego is not an easy thing to work through in life. I find it most easy simply not to judge, then it becomes so much easier.
And yet we all judge daily; we have to consider our way in life.
I like how you consider simply appreciating the views of others.
The greatest people I have ever met were so open minded!

I really appreciate your visiting and pouring from your well of knowledge. I love open mindedness, at least so far I have been to understand that we just have to listen to people too and show some respect to their own opinion. Thank you very much dear @surfyogi.

However, some adults feel belittled especially when young ones correct them

Many african parents are guilt of this. Respect is something we all want even in the tiniest form.
As you have rightly said, many things contribute to respect. I will like to add that money also brings respect too.
Thanks for this post. You are a versatile writer. I doff my cap.

Hahaha, yes money does my friend, just that their people who would really disrespect others in a bad way because they are penniless.

Thanks for this post. You are a versatile writer. I doff my cap.

Thank you very much dear one @turpsy.

Only the elders deserve respect is an old African or should I say Nigerian stereotype which I'm happy to say has drastically reduced due to more enlightenment, education, etc.

People who asked to be constantly respected actually do not deserve it. Because once you respect other people there's bound to be that mutual reciprocation.

Asking for respect in the first place is a very unnecessary thing to do. Respect is giving to get back back, I love your illustration. Thank you very much.

You are very much welcome.

just as you said respect should be earned and one way of doing that is by leading by a good example

We can only #respect those that respect themselves.
If a person can't respect themselves how will they be able to respect others @leczy?

I totally agree with you @leczy.

I really love this post, especially the aspect you explained that we should respect people that are not even deserving of it.

The fact is that although some of them might use the opportunity to become worse, others could change for the better

Yes dear one. I believe doing the right thing is for our own good. If some decides to get worse I think it's their problem not ours. Thank you very much.

Now a days people are getting worse conditions due to the lack of mutual respect.
Upvoted and see my latest post.

You are very correct thank you.

Very true, if you want respect you must respect yourself 1st, respect is earned.

Very true, no one can give what they lack. So to give it you must have it. Thank you very much.

dear @gloglo this is really amazing i like and love it so much

Am glad you do love it. It is a great pleasure to me and I hope you had something new to learn. Stay blessed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63630.04
ETH 2656.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81