You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to Easily Answer Extreme Hypotheticals

in #morality7 years ago (edited)

Good advice. The broader problem I have with hypotheticals is that they can be tactically used to tie you up ad infinitum, as you attempt to genuinely respond to any number of contrived situations. There's often no real intellectual investment on the part of the hypothesiser and an unjustified assumption that you should be defending your position and not the other way around.

Maybe if one were to impose a one-for-one rule of posing hypotheticals to the other party in a debate, it would discourage some people from asking so many :P

Sort:  

Yeah. With the type of response I recommended, they stop trying because it's clear that you can and will apply it to any and all scenarios they throw at you.

Yes I'm sure this works most of the time. Some will try to win by attrition though and are more resistant to an elegant rebuttal.

@equimanthorn, Pied Piper is downvoting my posts. He uses aggression against me. @piedpiper is attacking me. He said that discipline is bad. He said discipleship is bad. I agreed with him that abused is bad. I agree. Assault is bad. Murder is bad. We agree but he continues to attack me. I am not attacking him but he is abusing me. He is trying to maybe rape me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59737.47
ETH 3186.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43