You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to Easily Answer Extreme Hypotheticals

in #morality7 years ago

"I would absolutely vandalize the window to save myself... but I would stand accountable for my crime after the fact, pay for the damage, and earn the forgiveness of my victim."

The issue, I think, is that people have no sense of personal responsibility. This lack of personal responsibility comes from many different places, but I personally think it is largely because of having a government. A government with a policing force makes it so that we are not responsible in moral situations because it is big brother's responsibility to step in and take action. So people have a hard time recognizing this sense of self in accountability.

Great article! Upvoted & Resteemed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59238.58
ETH 3176.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45